demo app icon in 1.1.3?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by skateeditmac, Feb 14, 2008.

  1. skateeditmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #1
    so i have a jailbroken 1.1.3 ipod touch. for some reason it has this demoapp icon on my springboard. how do i get it off?

    i have the 20$ apps (i paid for), NES, and iphysics. also BSD subsystem
     
  2. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    you will need to ftp into your touch and delete the folder demoapp.app (I think thats the folder name) from /applications and it will be gone.
     
  3. skateeditmac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #3
    what do you mean by ftp?
     
  4. caa4444 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #4
    first install ssh on ur itouch
    second download winscp
    third open winscp type in ur itouch's ip user is root pass is alpine
    forth wait 40 secs
     
  5. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #5
    Instead of deleting it I find it easier to just hide it with "Customize" or "Poof". That's just me though.
     
  6. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #6
    cbrain, the demo app is 100% useless, it dosent even say "Hello World!"... Whats the point of it anyway?
     
  7. studio4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #7
    Could that App be used to loop a video on the Touch, like it does on the iPhone?
     
  8. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #8
    If you have a H.246 encoded .mov file and you place into private/var/root or private/var/mobile that video will continuously loop in portrait mode, regardless of whether the app is on the home screen. (I found that info on TUAW.)
     
  9. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #9
    Cool, never knew that! I knew there was a way to to it on iPod Classics and Nanos though.

    So how come the ones in the shop dont have a looping video? :confused:
     
  10. jbarr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #10
    I'm certainly not knocking anyone, but it just blows me away that people are re-flashing their firmware yet don't know what FTP is...just amazing.
     
  11. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #11
    If you're referring to how I didn't want to delete my DemoApp, I have SSHed into my iPod plenty of times and done plenty of things. I'd just rather leave DemoApp there, it's small, it doesn't really make a difference whether it's there or not.
     
  12. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #12
    I think he was referring to skateeditmac.
     
  13. jbarr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #13
    Correct.
     
  14. cbrain macrumors 65816

    cbrain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Location:
    North-East, UK
    #14
    Ah, sorry, I didn't notice his post further up.
     

Share This Page