Describe your usage if you're going all-in with the new MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by PDFierro, Mar 9, 2015.

1. PDFierro macrumors 68040

Just curious what other types of people are definitely picking up the new MacBook and what their reasons are. I've seen a few other people mention that their type of usage means the 12" rMB is the perfect laptop.

Myself: I'm a writer/digital nomad and most of what I do is web-based. I think this 12" rMB will be the perfect machine for people with that kind of usage. Other than that I just do your basics - HD iTunes playback, browsing, e-mail, FaceTime, etc. That said, I do require a desktop OS. It's crucial for the way I work, so an iPad as a primary computer would never work for me. I also like to customize/tweak OS X with some of the add-on apps that are available, settings/features which make me more productive. So in that way, I consider myself to be a power user in a way that someone using an iPad as their primary device isn't. Many writing apps I use are also exclusive to Mac OS X, thus another reason why I could never go Windows.

I'm not worried at all about the processing power. I've heard the Core M being compared to the performance of the Intel processors in the 2012 MBA, a machine that I had before switching to the rMBP. And that was fast enough for me. I'll be getting the 1.3 GHz version anyways.

I'm quite excited.

2. SgtPepper23 macrumors regular

I'd probably use it as i normally would, only not for the dual-screened beast, my trusty 2010 MacBook Pro. definitely looking to invest in a way to have a centralised 'cloud' storage in my home network, since the drives i have are firewire...
    that laptop, while stripped of pretty much every useful port, could end up changing the laptop world again...
    i'm excited about the technology growth!

3. happyslayer macrumors 6502a

happyslayer