Design Software (Adobe Creative Suite 3)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by NilVeres, Mar 29, 2008.

  1. NilVeres macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #1
    Just need a concrete answer on this.
    Does anybody here uses iMac to work with Photoshop, Flash, Dreamweaver, Illustrator and InDesign?

    If so what is your :apple:iMac's specifications and how well does it perform.
    I've ordered a 20" iMac (2.0GHZ Intel) and am going to upgrade the RAM to 4GB.

    Think I'll have trouble with CS3's performance?
    On a Windows PC they should run around a medium-high performance with similar specs, and since Mac is told to run better I'd expect them to run nicely.
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    An iMac Intel with 4 GB of RAM performs excellently for Adobe CS3. I have clients publishing glossy magazines with this same combination.

    Only the highest-demanding professional production use would require a MacPro machine.
     
  3. NilVeres thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #3
    Do you have any examples of these?

    In the long run I may have to obtain licenses of Toon Boom (22k USD WHY D=!) and while the program works fine with basic animation shorts I've yet to work with HD environments and if I could use those iMac specs I could keep using it.

    EDIT: Apart from that, what about 3D rendering software?
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    You are asking a subjective question.

    All Macs will run all the software. With very high demand software or data, performance will be faster on the fastest machine.

    How much faster very much depends on the exact software being run, the nature of the data, and the machine it is run on.

    An iMac works fine with SD video and with 2-D graphics

    If you are doing HD video, or Photoshop documents in the 100 MB and up range, or in a high volume high quality production environment, then get the MacPro.

    I don't have any knowledge of Toon Boom.

    Unless you get specific, nobody can give you a specific answer.
     
  5. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    I use the entire CS3 suite all with a 2.4GHz Al 24" iMac and 4GB of RAM without issue, but I don't do anything of great effort in any of them.

    My friend does, however, and he bought a Mac Pro.
     
  6. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    It'll work beautifully - we have an iMac of exactly that spec being used to design/layout all of our promo literature plus an only slightly more powerful 24" iMac designing a 28 page bi-monthly glossy mag - both on CS3. No probs whatsoever.
     
  7. NilVeres thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
  8. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #8
    I run CS3 Design Premium on my 24" iMac (2.4GHz, 2GB RAM) and it really flies. Since I have a day job as a designer (see Mac Pro below), I only use my iMac at home for freelance gigs (as well as email, internet, etc.), but when I do need to run multiple CS3 apps at once, I've never had a problem at all. At some point I'll up the RAM to 4GB, to get a little extra speed, but right now I just don't use it all the time for design, so what I have works great.
     
  9. ArtTechFreak macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Just East of San Frandisco
    #9
    You should have no problems running Adobe CS3 apps. I run several Adobe CS3 apps., Dosbox, Parallel's with WinXP all at the same time on my 2.8Ghz Intel iMac (4Gb ram) and it still screams.
     
  10. cinnatu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008

Share This Page