Design student struggling what to get?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Kerstman, Oct 30, 2016.

1. Kerstman macrumors newbie

Hello!

I know, I know, a lot of people are having the same problems. Sorry to bother you guys again ;)

Anyway this is my story: I'm currently a design student doing a lot of creative work, including 3D renders & video renders from time to time. I'm currently in possession of:

1. Mid 2010 17" MBP (Geekbench: Single core: 1785, Multi core: 2563) <---- Not sure what I'm doing with this (lagg's on 1080p 60fps YouTube videos)
    2. Windows PC - 8GB RAM / i5-2500k CPU @ 3.3 GHz (4 Cores) (Geekbench: Single core: 3523, Multi core: 9722) <---- This is my main workhorse currently

The Windows PC I'm working with is nice, but I'm in need of a new device. I can't go with another Windows anymore since I need a Mac for Sketch / Principle (Creative programs only running on OSX).

The setup I wish to get is a main MBP with an external monitor at home which I can connect it to. So I'm probably working 50% on the MBP alone and 50% with the external monitor connected.

Was looking forward to the new MBP's coming out, but because of the price and all the topics on here I'm in doubt.

My doubts are as follows:
    Is the 15" screen required as creative designer (used to 17" non retina, 1920 x 1080 pixels) or has the 13" without scaling enough space for UI design projects?

Yes (13" is good enough): Does the 13" 2016 MBP have enough power? (Geekbench of the base model: Single core: 3716, Multi core: 7100) or do I need the 13" 2016 model with Touch bar?

And is 8GB RAM enough? Because I'm more or less thinking about 16GB which adds €225,- which makes a 15" MPB 2015 more interesting with a similar price (13" = €1.825 / 13" with Touch bar = €2.105 / 15" 2015 = €2.070)