Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BrettArchibald

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 31, 2007
Hello there!

Allow me to briefly introduce myself. I am a designer... a graphic designer, an interactive designer... I do layouts in Photoshop for large websites, for small WAP-sites. I do icon design. I illustrate in Illustrator. I sketch with a pencil. I animate. I come up with concepts for games.
Basically, I'm a designer. I've been doing design professionally in one form or another for the past 14 years. I'm passionate about what I do, I enjoy doing it, and I always strive to do the best I can in all the work I produce.
That's what I am and who I am.
What I am NOT is a developer or a coder. I've dabbled a bit in HTML and CSS, and even a bit of complex Flash ActionScript, but generally, I just end up tearing my hair out with frustration when I try, because I can't do it very well.
I know I'm not a coder, but it frustrates me when I have an idea that I can't implement because of a lack of technical skills.

What's this all got to do with anything I hear you say? Well, unless you've been living under a rock for the past few months, you'll all have heard about the great new apps and games that you can get on your shiny new iPhones and iPod Touches.
Well, to get to the point, creating games and mini-apps is something I have been wanting to get into for a long time. This was for the Mac OS, long before the iPhone came along. Now with the iPhone SDK released to the general public, my desire to do this is even stronger, and I have a stack of great ideas that I want to bring to life on the small-screen!
I've sketched out a few of these ideas, but I know that without the coding-skills, my sketches ultimately mean nothing.