Designer needs help ( new mac user )

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by fireworksdesign, Aug 13, 2011.

1. fireworksdesign macrumors member

Hi , first time macbook air 13 inch owner here. I have used windows xp, 7 and ubuntu but its my first time using mac lion.

I have a long list of questions here, hope somebody can answer them please.

a. When youre in full screen , lets say in safari, what is the best way to hide safari or unable the full screen mode ? Is it possible thru gestures?

b. What are mac freeware alternatives to >

winzip >
    any ftp program >
    winamp >
    ftp software >
    notepad ++ >

any budgeting/personal finance programs out there?

or can you point to a list of essential mac apps after a fresh install of lion ?

c. If you use Adobe Fireworks in a mac, and you have also used the windows version, you will notice the toolbars ( undo, redo , the bring to back/front ) buttons are not in the mac version. It was a real shocker for me when I found out it wasn't there, is there a panel extension for this or should I use keyboard commands ?

d. I want to change the icons for the programs and folders, lets say in the dock and desktop, how do I do this ?

e. Do I need to install antivirus programs /anti malware programs like ad aware or I don't ?

f. Any tips to make the macbook air even faster ( like in windows you can disable services in msconfig, etc )

Thanks !

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Built-in. Right-click on selected files and compress.
    Built in. TextEdit.
    Personal Finance Apps - TODAY!
    Alternative to Quicken
    Personal Finance Software Recommendation
    Best personal budgeting software?
    Looking for a good budget program
    Financial Applications?
    Etc., etc., etc.
    To change the icon for any disk, app, file or folder