Designing iOS apps on PC

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by $M.H$, May 23, 2014.

  1. $M.H$ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    #1
    Hi all :)
    My brother decided to enter ios coding apps world !
    He wants to make ios apps ( simple apps )
    So he bought the one of the BEST LAPTOPS
    Laptop info :
    32 GB RAM
    CPU = 2.5 GHZ up to 6 GHZ
    Intel processor i7 - 4th generation
    6 TB storage
    Screen card ( 8 GB )
    18" screen (touch) full HD 1080p
    HDMI port
    CD / DVD / blueray disk drive
    4 USB ports ( USB 3.0 )
    SD card reader
    FHD Web cam / Bluetooth / Wi-Fi with fast link speed & MIMO / fast boot up & shut down
    Windows 8 Pro

    So who can he start creating his first ios app in this AMAZING LAPTOP ?
    :)
     
  2. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
  3. LordQ macrumors 68040

    LordQ

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
  4. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #4
    6TB? Isn't the largest 2.5" drive available only 2TB?


    But as others have said, you need a Mac for iOS programming.
     
  5. $M.H$ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    #5
    Hey wait there !
    That laptop is over 3000 $
    No solution ??
    Tool or programs for that ?!
    ****

    ----------


    I think he bought a sony hard disk and plug it to the laptop

    But there is no tool for windows 8 ?
    It have to be a way to do it by PC

    ----------

    What are you talking about man ?
    3000 $ for a laptop and it can"t code
    An ******* iOS app ?
    Why ?!
     
  6. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #6

    Just because something costs a lot dosent mean it does everything. You need a Mac to develop iOS apps. That's like going to the ford dealer and buying a ford focus and expecting it to perform like a sand rail.
     
  7. $M.H$ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    #7
    No Chinese tool or something to do it by a PC ?
     
  8. richwoodrocket, May 23, 2014
    Last edited: May 23, 2014

    richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #8
    Designing iOS apps on PC


    No... You can't use anything other than Xcode. It just dosent work that way.
     
  9. ionjohn macrumors 65816

    ionjohn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
  10. $M.H$ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    #10
    But I saw video in YouTube about something
    Called " game salad " ( near that name )
    Can code ios by PC

    ----------

    What is SSD ?
     
  11. ionjohn macrumors 65816

    ionjohn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    flash storage
     
  12. $M.H$ thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    #12
    What it does ?
     
  13. chown33 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #13
    Here's the Game Salad website:
    http://gamesalad.com/

    Look at it carefully, and see what they say. Be sure to read it carefully, and note the distinction between running in an emulator or simulator on a PC, and running on an actual iOS device.

    Game Salad isn't the only game engine. There are others. Some let you simulate on a PC, but AFAIK they all require a Mac and Xcode to run on a real iOS device.

    There are also jailbreaks that may let you develop on a non-Mac, and may not need Xcode. If you're willing to jailbreak, then those development options are available to you.
     
  14. ionjohn macrumors 65816

    ionjohn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    it's wayy faster than a hdd
     
  15. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #15
    Tell your brother to return it and get a nice rMBP.
    PS how long does a battery last on an 18" laptop?
     
  16. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #16
    I've not used Game Salad so I can't say anything about it, but I personally love making games in Unity. Unity itself runs on Mac and Windows, and it can make games for iOS, Android, Mac, Windows, Linux, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii U, and DS... and a few other smartphones, I think.

    I'm not certain whether it can actually build to iOS from Windows, but you can definitely do your development and testing on the Windows and then just copy over the project to a Mac and build it from that.

    In any event, Unity (and Game Salad) are for making games, not generic iOS Apps. You need Xcode or AppCode (both Mac only) to make native iOS Apps.

    Also, the specs you posted don't particularly impress me. They're much better than what I can afford at the moment, but it just doesn't sound particularly brag worthy (I do brag about how my 7 year old iMac still works well enough with everything I do...)
     
  17. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #17

    I agree. MacBook Pro all the way. 18" is pretty big for a laptop too....
     
  18. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #18
    Or Xamarin's product (that I've forgotten the name of).
     
  19. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #19
    Your brother made a bad purchase. He could have purchased something like a mini and a decent display. That would have made for a far better coding machine for less money. I'm not aware of any third party tools, and they would be inferior for the task anyway. You also need a developer account to publish apps.
     
  20. xStep macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #20
    There are people running OS X on non-Apple hardware. Supposedly even Microsofts newly announced Surface Pro can run it somehow.

    To run Xcode you need to run OS X. I believe you require Xcode to upload your apps to the App Store. You'll need a paid developer account to install on your personal devices and to upload to the store.

    Your brother needs to so some proper research.
     
  21. DennisBlah macrumors 6502

    DennisBlah

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  22. chown33 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    #22
    Not every PC can be turned into a hackintosh. Without knowing the specifics, it's possible that the OP's PC can't be converted.
     
  23. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #23
    While we're making fun of this computer...

    What does he need 6 TB worth of storage for? I have plenty of HD movies on my computer and I don't even touch half a TB. I realize that if you're some kind of professional dealing with lots of raw assets you might need multiple TB, but for most people I think 1 TB is probably good enough for the next few years... (we'll see what future formats might demand in terms of space on consumer drives)
     
  24. 1458279 Suspended

    1458279

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #24
    laptops are much harder to hackintosh. You don't get the control over the sound card / video card / etc..

    You end up having to wait for someone to figure out the configuration or you end up with something that doesn't support everything. Generally, they focus on the popular laptops and maybe lesser on the expensive ones. Someone that can throw down $3K on a laptop can throw down $2K on a Macbook.

    The hackintosh is more for those that don't want to invest in Apple hardware or to save money by getting the same hardware from someone else.


    One other option is VM and/or renting a mac in the cloud.


    Either way, if you bought the PC to develop iOS apps, you didn't do your homework.
     
  25. DennisBlah macrumors 6502

    DennisBlah

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #25

    You are totally right. For me on my old acer I cannot get my ati card to work properly. However I can do xCode on it since Im on 10.9.2

    I dual booted it, however I got an retina late 2013 now :)
     

Share This Page