designing with tables.. frowned upon?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by kymac, Jul 26, 2009.

1. kymac macrumors 6502a

kymac

so im a graphic designer who has done several websites.. and have always made my website layouts in photoshop and imported into dreamweaver etc.. is this technique dated and out of style? i've heard that tables are frowned upon in the webdesign world.. how do you go about designing without tables? any good tutorials for the new trends in webdesign?

2. Greedo Guest

maybe 'outdated' more than frowned upon. tables are originally meant for tabular data, and most websites are not full of tabular data. so using tables for layout is really more of a workaround than anything else.

best practice now is to use (X)HTML and CSS - which conceptually is separating the content (HTML) from the style (CSS). The content is marked up without regards to style, only to semantics, or "meaningful" markup - so headers are <h1>, <h2>, paragraphs are <p>, etc... and then the CSS is used to style the content.

best way to learn IMO is Lynda.com - specially these:

CSS Website Design and CSS for Designers which talks a bit more about the theory - good if you are already a designer.

you can find free 30-day Lynda.com passes online if you do not have an account.

HTML + CSS is way, way easier and far more logical than the old way with tables and such.

3. wheezy macrumors 65816

wheezy

Tables are fine if you're designing for yourself, but if you want to eventually market yourself to other firms or claim to be cutting edge, you need to learn CSS as mentioned above. It's an awful lot more powerful than tables are, much easier to update, better for SEO... many many reasons.

4. NathanCH macrumors 65816

NathanCH

It took me a LOT of convincing to move from tables to divs. No matter what anyone said, I didn't do it. But one day I tried it and I will never look back.