Desktop CPU in Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Cindori, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #1
    I know you need xeons for the dual CPU models, but what about the single CPU model? Would it not be possible to slam a desktop CPU in there?

    I found this on the web:

    "The Xeon processor in the single socket (quad) Mac Pro can be easily exchanged for a Core i7 920, 930, 940, 950, 960, 965 or 975 CPU."
     
  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    Yes, it should be possible with MP 2009.
    There was site (i don't remember address now) with such an upgrade done to MP 2006.
    Only thing that could be against it, it's loose ECC memory support. As long as CPUIDs in EFI matches with CPUs you want to put into MP, there should be no problem (theoretically ofc).
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Quad 2009 uses W35xx (Bloomfield) series and they are exactly similar priced as equal Core i7s, so I guess they are actually the same. 8-core uses L55xx and X55xx series (Gainestown) which are more expensive due TDP, but quads chips are cheap, same as Core i7s
     

Share This Page