Desktop gadgets in Windows 7 beta.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by cogsinister, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. cogsinister macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericton NB Canada
    #1
    Is this feature working for anyone...?

    If i try to set them up nothing happens......

    Any ideas ?
     
  2. MacReloaded macrumors 6502

    MacReloaded

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Is UAC turned off?
     
  3. cogsinister thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericton NB Canada
    #3
    Erm, not sure, whats UAC ?
     
  4. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #4
    It's the thing that made the screen go black in vista and asked you if you wanted to do something "Allow" or "Deny".

    In Windows 7, it just warns you a lot, if you're doing crazy stuff.
     
  5. cogsinister thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericton NB Canada
    #5
    Yes i have turned that off.........
     
  6. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    I'd actually recommend you don't turn UAC off. (Although in Windows 7, it's actually always on, you can just put it into "silent" mode.)

    Anyway, I've found that a lot of people choose to hide desktop icons, and if you do that, the gadgets won't show up. This is a bug, I'm assuming. So try that.
     
  7. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #7
    Gadgets are not working when UAC is turned off
     
  8. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    They should be. It's most likely a bug. Use the "Send feedback" links and tell Microsoft.
     
  9. cogsinister thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericton NB Canada
    #9
    Turning on UAC made the gadget work, how odd.....................
     
  10. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    That is odd. That's why you should use that "Send feedback" menu and tell Microsoft. You should be able to see gadgets regardless of your UAC settings. It would appear to be a bug.
     
  11. MacBook08 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #11
    Gadgets work fine for me. It's nice they got rid of the sidebar. Whether User Account Control is on or off, the gadgets feature should not be affected.
     
  12. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    Actually, the sidebar is still more or less there. If you double-click on any gadget within the gallery, it will automatically align itself to the far right corner. Likewise, you can drag gadgets already on the desktop over to the right side and they will lock into a grid.
     
  13. MacBook08 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #13
    That's true but I do enjoy the new freedom.
     
  14. cogsinister thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericton NB Canada
    #14
    I intend to............its a beta testers duty :)
     
  15. FX120 macrumors 65816

    FX120

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #15
    It's not new from Vista...
     
  16. sharp65 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #16
    Gadgets run in protected mode, hence turning off UAC disables gadgets.
     
  17. ljay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #17

Share This Page