Desktop Icons Are "Flat" / White...

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by JoelBC, Jan 6, 2015.

  1. JoelBC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #1
    When I first boot / start my MBA the icons on my desktop appear as they should [i.e. the icons look like the app's icons be it Excel, Word, etc.] but immediately after start up the icons look flat / white...to be better understand this I have included an image of an Excel file that appears on my desktop, notice how it the image is "white" rather than having the Excel icon / look.

    The question is, how do I fix this?

    Thanks,

    Joel
     

    Attached Files:

  2. randomgeeza macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    I see the same behaviour, but not on all files, only some...? Another one of those bugs I suspect. You could Get Info and see what the icon is, and then copy paste the icon you require/want, into the Get Info icon.
     
  3. ncrypt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    If you right click on the desktop and click 'Show View Options', you can select to 'Show Icon Preview'.
     
  4. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #4
    Already done / on...any other ideas?

    Thanks,


    Joel
     
  5. joedec, Jan 6, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2015

    joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #5
    Finder has some bugs in this area. I had a similar situation where when I create an alias and move it, it changed to blank white.

    Funny thing was Get Info showed the correct icon. I found a work around if I renamed the file it would pick up the correct icon. Unfortunately I can't always reproduce this bug. Could be related to how the indexes get built.
     
  6. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #6
    Appreciate the suggestion but that did not work either.

    The very strange thing is that WITHIN FINDER (Finder --> Desktop) the icons appear as they should but ON THE DESKTOP they do not...would really love to get this fixed!

    Thanks...
     
  7. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #7
    As it has been about a week since anyone has come up with any alternative suggestions I thought I would ask one last time whether anyone has any ideas as to ho to solve this.

    TIA!
     
  8. koifish22 macrumors member

    koifish22

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Location:
    Pale Blue Dot
    #8
    Try restarting Finder via the command+option+esc window. I have this problem sometimes and this fixes it for me.
     
  9. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #9
    Appreciate the suggestion, tried it, no joy!
     
  10. ameriMacka Suspended

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Location:
    core
    #10
    to change icons

    download icons [or create]

    select file with icon u won use [in icon layout] - copy

    get info on file u want to chg icon

    click icon at the top - paste

    :apple:
     
  11. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #11
    Appreciate the response but you miss the point...the is not to replace the existing icons but rather to get the existing icons to show properly [i.e. within Finder all is as it should be BUT on my desktop they somehow for some reason corrupt].

    Thanks...
     
  12. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #12
    My bet its a corrupted cache, but where, that's the question. I have tools I use to clear such things, namely Cocktail, but I'm not sure they even address your bug, and I think its a Yosemite bug.
     
  13. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #13
    Appreciate the response and note that whatever it is, it sure is annoying as hell!
     
  14. joedec macrumors 6502

    joedec

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Location:
    Cupertino
    #14
    Ditto that. I assume you've tried different users, just to be sure its system wide, or not?
     
  15. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #15
    Cannot figure out the cause...
     
  16. umzyi macrumors regular

    umzyi

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    This is due to some kind of a bug in launch services. I would suggest that you run Onyx any any other utility to delete the old caches, rebuild the launch service database and then run this in apple script, (this is basically flushing out the services) and then do a restart. All the icons should be back to normal

    set flushLaunchSvcDB to "/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Support/lsregister -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user"
    do shell script flushLaunchSvcDB
    do shell script "killall Finder"

    if you want an pre-made apple script let me know, I can do that for you.

    Cheers
     
  17. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #17
    I think that you may be correct given that when OS X first loads the icons look fine but then get "corrupted"...I tried not loading the app that start at boot up but the problem continued to occur.


    If you could that would be greatly appreciated particularly given that I am in the process of learning AS.

    Thanks!
     
  18. D1STORT1ON macrumors newbie

    D1STORT1ON

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    VA
    #18
    FWIW, I have the same problem - it only seems to happen to MS Office docs
     
  19. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #19
    Not for me...PDF files...AppleScript scripts...etc...
     
  20. umzyi macrumors regular

    umzyi

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    Ok here it is. I have made two, both does the same thing. Before you run it, I recommend you clear your old icon cache by running either Onyx or cleanmymac and then run either of the script and then give it a restart.

    I am sure this will give you a good nite sleep :D

    https://db.tt/lvUrGmNS
     
  21. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #21
    Appreciate that and will run over the weekend / early next week when I am back at home and can do a full backup before trying your scripts...two follow ups:

    1. Why do I need to run Onyx or CleanMyMac first [i.e. what do they do that your script does not do]? and

    2. What exactly does your script do?

    Thx...
     
  22. umzyi macrumors regular

    umzyi

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    Onyx and cleanmymac is not necessary but I would recommended them since they clear/delete the old icons caches before rebuilding new icons. The script is basically made up of that long command, which is basically forcing system to flush the service database.

    If you read my previous message, there is this terminal command, I have posted. if you don't trust my script, you can make one of your own in automator by doing this:

    1. Open automator, new document, select application
    2. From utilities select "run applescript" and drag it to the right.
    3. Paste this in to the apple script:

    set flushLaunchSvcDB to "/System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Support/lsregister -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user"
    do shell script flushLaunchSvcDB
    do shell script "killall Finder"

    4. Once done, go to file, save and save as application where ever you like.
    5. Run the script and you'll see that those white icons will no longer show white but will start showing icons of the corresponding apps.

    Cheers
     
  23. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #23
    Appreciate both the dropbox link and the above explanation / post...it is not that I don't trust your AS but rather I am trying to learn as I go, nothing more...

    Thanks..
     
  24. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #24
    An update...I am no home from my business travels....I ran the script and unfortunately it did not work, wishing to would have but no joy!

    Thanks for trying, appreciate the time and effort.
     
  25. JoelBC thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #25
    Update...embarrassingly I have discovered that the problem was Operator Error [i.e. me] in that when one right clicks on a desktop icon there is the option to "Show Icon Preview" and I [or, perhaps Apple by default] had this ticked in error...apologies to all who spent time helping me on this.
     

Share This Page