Desktop Mac buying advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by nmaxcom, Aug 28, 2014.

1. nmaxcom macrumors member

Hi!

I want to replace my old desktop computer for a Mac, but I'm just lost at which one to choose. I have a Macbook Pro and I'm pretty happy with its performance, I guess desktop size it'll be even better.

I work dual monitor in my current desktop, two 23" Acer displays, would I be able to use them with any of Mac's available desktop products? If so, is it easy? I would like to keep my workflow as it is just with a better machine.

Now to the to options: I immediatly discard the Mac Pro, is way over budget and way over my needs.

Also, do I have to discard iMac because it already comes with a screen? If that's the case I'm only left with Mac mini, which I'm not sure it has enough power for my needs, does it?

I'm a designer and a developer and a time waster, in any regular day I'll have 3-4 Adobe apps simultanialy opened as well as code editors, 15 Chrome tabs...

Also I'd like to be able to play BF3 from time to time (I guess boot camp no problem).

So please, which one should I buy and why? THanks!

2. boast macrumors 65816

boast

What are the specs of your older Desktop that is now computationally inadequate?

3. nmaxcom, Aug 29, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2014

nmaxcom thread starter macrumors member

These are my specs (I'm not really good at hardware stuff, I better paste from the program):

• Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz
      • Description: Intel64 Family 6 Model 26 Stepping 5
      • Architecture: x64
      • Number Of Cores: 4
      • Number Of Logical Processors: 8
    • Total Memory: 12,00 GB
    • ASUSTeK Computer INC. Rampage III Extreme
    • BIOS Date: 03/31/10 11:02:49 Ver: 08.00.15
    • (1) Maxtor 6L200S0 ATA Device (2) MAXTOR STM3500320AS ATA Device (3) ST32000641AS ATA Device
    • (1) AMD Radeon HD 5900 Series (2) AMD Radeon HD 5900 Series