Desktop Wifi via time capsule?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JurgenWigg, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. JurgenWigg macrumors 6502

    JurgenWigg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Location:
    Delaware
    #1
    I have a 2008 Mac Pro without an Airport card.

    I'm trying to connect it to a time capsule, then have that time capsule connect to the network I have in my apartment, thus getting wifi on the Mac Pro.

    Any chance of this working?
     
  2. JurgenWigg thread starter macrumors 6502

    JurgenWigg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Location:
    Delaware
  3. soco macrumors 68030

    soco

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Location:
    Yardley, PA
    #3
    I think the issue is going to be the fact that the Time Capsule has no drivers to support it acting as a NIC.

    I'm open to correction.
     
  4. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #4
    Hrm, my home network appears to be down so I can't remote in to look, but I know the AirPort Express supports "Connect as a Device" mode that then shares its wireless network with wired devices.

    The Time Capsule also supports "Extend my network" mode, which should do it, but it might only support extending a network that is hosted by another Apple router (AirPort Express, Extreme, or another Time Capsule.) In that mode, it will share with wired computers. (That's how I have my office set up - one AirPort Express as the main router where the Cable internet comes in, the other on the other end of the house in "Extend my network" mode, with my server plugged in directly to it via Ethernet.)
     

Share This Page