Determine which A9 chip (TSMC or Samsung) without downloading software in iPhone 6S (Plus)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by VinegarTasters, Oct 10, 2015.

  1. VinegarTasters, Oct 10, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2015

    VinegarTasters macrumors 6502

    VinegarTasters

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #1
    How to tell if you have the Samsung or TSMC CPU chip (A9) without jailbreaking or downloading any software on your Apple iPhone 6S or iPhone 6S Plus! Inside the Settings app on the iPhone, you can search for the hidden data that determines which exact A9 CPU chip you have in your phone. Just follow the instructions in the video and look for the token string.

    Note: The following method below works for iPhone 6S and iPhone 6S Plus...






    Note: The following method below works for iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus (or below)...

     
  2. anthonybkny macrumors regular

    anthonybkny

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
  3. Shadowbech macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #3
    Very nice. At least we don't have to download the software. Thanks for the tip.
     
  4. webwbr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    #4
    Love the idea, but mine says "No Diagnostic Data" tried the restart twice. :-/ I hope this works for others!
     
  5. Shadowbech macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #5
    Just keep using the phone as normal and at least something will pop up. Usually when you connect to iTunes, it will clear that page.
     
  6. realeric macrumors 6502a

    realeric

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    Mine have a TSMC chip but it has "...ARM64_S8000" string. So, this method isn't correct.
     
  7. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #7
    Geekbench 3 was updated yesterday and it now tells you "motherboard" after running a benchmark. Another option.
     
  8. asleep macrumors 68040

    asleep

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #8
    Or don't click on the video and just read it in my signature. :cool:
     
  9. LLL1424 Contributor

    LLL1424

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #9
    Same here. Other apps show a TSMC chip but this method says 8000. Fail !
     
  10. LLL1424 Contributor

    LLL1424

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #10
    Stop repeating to check your signature...it doesn't work for most people as they don't see the lowbattery tab when you're under Diagnostics.
     
  11. MrJM macrumors 6502

    MrJM

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    #11
    Yeah not sure this is correct. Lirum shows that I have the TSMC Chip but doing this says I have the Samsung chip. Somethings not right!
     
  12. LLL1424 Contributor

    LLL1424

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
  13. yillbs macrumors 6502

    yillbs

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    This is simply a matter of labeling. For those of you who used a third party program to determine your chip set, and your diagnostics shos the S8000 then you have a samsung chip, according to the wiki, and every other available source, that's samsung. If your other programs say otherwise, they are likely mistaken. Unless every phone says S8000 in the diagnostics... which would mean horrible things for apple, as that may be some sort of way to prevent people from knowing the chip. however, i highly doubt that!
     
  14. cdm283813 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    #15
    Same here.
     
  15. LLL1424 Contributor

    LLL1424

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #16
    Everyone using this method is getting 8000 . So it's not reliable.
     
  16. yillbs macrumors 6502

    yillbs

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    Then their is a bigger problem than just having multiple chips. The model number of the device / chipset can not be wrong in diagnostics... that would defeat the entire purpose of having diagnostics. When we plug it in ( usually after it's been sent back due to a replacement ) the information is downloaded. Often times we dont even SEE the phone, and we use the information provided in the diagnostics to tell us what phone it is. Seeing this would tell me it's an iphone running 9.0.1 on a samsung chip. you have to look at this as everything else can be wrong, error reports can not be wrong, the kernel handles that data....

    Edit : When actually doing a diagnostic, the CPU identifier is not really every important, it's just a piece of static content provided. ( for resolution ) purposes.
     
  17. cdm283813 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    #18
    Or maybe these previous checks where inconsistent/wrong in the first place. Imagine the look on someone face that went through the trouble of swapping out a Samsung cpu when they actually had a TSMC cpu. The waste of time and resources over the last few days.

    LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!
     
  18. MrJM macrumors 6502

    MrJM

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    #19
    Yeah Ive tried 3 methods now. This one says Samsung, the other 2 say TSMC. Not that I think it will make any difference!
     
  19. MaxBga macrumors regular

    MaxBga

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #20
    Same here. 2 methods (app and another chinese thing a week ago). This method shows samsung & the 2 others TSMC.

    Believing the other ones.
     
  20. yillbs macrumors 6502

    yillbs

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    Texas
    #21
    i agree that it's not that big of a deal, but someone needs to find out why error reporting is sending everyone to samsung labeled devices.. that makes no sense.

    EDIT : Apple may have done this intentionally in order to group each phone category into what model it is, as like i said, sometimes the phone isn't handy, and the S8000 would signify an Iphone 6s / 6s+ that may be the only reason they use it. Theory, which based on the feedback, is likely correct.
     
  21. LLL1424, Oct 10, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2015

    LLL1424 Contributor

    LLL1424

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #22
    I'm not knowledgeable with how the error reporting logs works but something tells me the information isn't correct to determine which A9 chip is on your phone using logs. I had to look under a different log to find the "8000" number.


    I have used 3 methods to figure out which chip I have in mines and all point at the TSMC chip.
     
  22. LLL1424 Contributor

    LLL1424

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #23
    Yes, I know, another thread on the A9 chip ordeal. But apparently using Diagnostics and Usage logs are showing numbers ending in 8000 . Those are apparently Samsung A9 chips. Is this method incorrect?


    I've tested 3 apps to check which chip is on mines and they all say TSMC chips. This method shows Samsung. I know it doesn't make a difference but are these apps providing us incorrect information or are the logs the best way to go?
     
  23. edlex macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #24
    So then this method is useless? And I had to watch that video!
     
  24. yillbs macrumors 6502

    yillbs

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Location:
    Texas
    #25
    I'm leaning more towards this method listed here is just a static identifier, and ALL phones will have this code, 6s, and 6splus, but non (s) phones will not. This method SHOULD be accurate, but it doesn't seem information being reported is accurate, which is actually kinda of scary. This means one of two things, apple doesnt need, nor care what chip the phones have ( which ... means they DONT think their is a difference ), or, they know it's an issue, and were hoping these third party apps would take the kernel chip identifier and lie to everyone :) either way, doens't seem to have worked.
     

Share This Page