Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KPVA

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 22, 2011
Hi... I'm a newbie MBP user (just converted from PC this week) and am having some start-up troubles, particularly getting Windows on my Mac. I paid extra for One-to-One service and went in yesterday all prepared with my VM Fusion and Windows 7 Home Premium disks, so they could help me get everything loaded up and running. BUT, we quickly ran into a problem with Boot Camp-- it's actually a known problem with the newest version of Boot Camp, which won't let you download the needed Windows support software to allow the Mac keyboard and mouse to work within Windows once installed. I wish the Apple Store person knew about it, because we wasted the entire hour appointment trying to troubleshoot... and considering I only get one personal session for what I paid, I'm not such a happy camper. So not off to the greatest start with Mac.

So, after reading the Apple support forums, I have found a back door way to get everything loaded up. So, I am now at the screen with the slider bar asking me how big I want each the Mac and Windows partitions on the hard drive. I was under the impression that I will need to partition the memory between Mac and Windows (and not the hard drive) and that's why I was told to upgrade from 4GB to 8GB of RAM and from the i5 to the i7. And, the support people at VM Ware told me about how much memory I should parition (between 2.5 and 3.5 RAM). But, I guess it's the hard drive that I need to decide about.

Anyway, I will be a fairly heavy Windows user on the Mac (unfortunately) because the software I need for my business either doesn't have a Mac version or the Mac version is not worth speaking of, such as Quickbooks.