Development on Jailbroken iPhone

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by bluesky2000, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. bluesky2000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #1
    Hi, i'm a paid developer and test apps on my iPod Touch currently. i need a camera functionality of iPhone and have a question. Can I develop application on jailbroken and unlocked iPhone? If I get an iPhone, I'd like to use it as my cell phone as well as test system. Thanks.
     
  2. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #2
    Yes, there should be no problems with that. I use my old, deactivated 3G for development along with my iPod Touch.
     
  3. mraheel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    #3
    But isnt it tricky kinda? I heard its not as easy as Build & Go. Theres some playing around with terminal etc.. And I havent heard about the new 3.0 updated/jailbroken iphones.

    Can anyone shed more light?
     
  4. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #4
    No, I do development on my jailbroken 3.0 3G and its hassle free. What kind of issues are you expecting?
     
  5. BlackWolf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    #5
    since an unlocked iphone doesn't differ from a normal iphone this is hard to believe.

    the only trouble you COULD run into is if apple asks for your device code and checks if that device was activated through their servers. but as far as I know, this isn't the case ...
     
  6. bluesky2000 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #6
    So is there any way that Apple could find out if i'm using unlocked iPhone as development? I'm pretty sure they don't permit jailbreaking iPhone for development.
     
  7. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #7
    Are you saying uberamd is lying?
     
  8. fenrus110 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #8
    What are the potential issues when we have to upgrade the firmware or install beta firmware? Cuz it will be locked again when we upgrade right? So we would need to jailbreak/unlock it again.
     
  9. Kingbombs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #9
    Yes you will have to jailbreak it again (if you do upgrade, you don't have to) also you will have to find a new way to put the files onto the phone (if you do have a developer license probably don't have to do anything different on your mac)
    Generally you have to wait a little while after a new OS update for a new patch of MobileInstaller or something similar
     

Share This Page