DFU Mode Help.

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by gooshy, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. gooshy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I have just updated my jailbroken apple tv to 4.3.1. I am trying to now jailbreak with pwnagetool but cant for the life of me get into DFU mode. I have followed the instructions on pwnagetool and i keep getting told it failed.

    I have tried various other methods including following youtube vids with power cable both in and out.

    Does anyone else have this problem or have any suggestions how to get it to go into DFU mode. I going nuts.

    Thanks
     
  2. macosgeek, Apr 8, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2011

    macosgeek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #2
    So you jailbroke it once already, but can't get into DFU again?

    FWIW I cannot enter DFU mode either. I have tried countless times, many different ways. I'm using the cable that came with my Kindle, which reportedly should work. I've tried everything in these posts like restoring in iTunes, then setup network and language, still no DFU.
     
  3. hitekalex macrumors 68000

    hitekalex

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    #3
    Yes, putting the ATV2 into DFU is a pain.. here's the method that worked for me:

    1) disconnect all cables from ATV2
    2) connect ATV2 to your computer with microUSB
    3) wait for rate of flashing LED to change, then connect power cord
    4) wait for rate of flashing to change again, then hold Menu+Play for 7 sec
    5) wait for rate of flashing to change again, then let go of Menu+Play buttons
    6) Seas0nPass/PwnageTool should now detect DFU device - disconnect power cord once it does

    Good luck
     
  4. mamruoc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #4
    Thanks a million!

    This really works on 4.3.1

     
  5. macosgeek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #5
    I wish I could say that method worked for me :(. Need a way to return my ATV to to Apple and try another one.
     
  6. mamruoc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #6
    I needed to restore/upgrade to original 4.3.1 to be able to enter DFU mode.
     
  7. macosgeek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #7

Share This Page