DHCP Playing Mind GAME!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by unclenice, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. unclenice macrumors newbie

    unclenice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #1
    I got Mac server which I configured as ODM everything works fine all user log on ok now then only thing is the internet, Non of the user can connect to the internet on Mac OS X Client but Mac OS X Server can, we connection through External proxy ok below is how my network setup

    All In One LAN

    External Proxy: proxy1.888888.com port 80

    (1)Window Server 2003= 10.*.*.3 this DHCP Leases server.

    (2) Window Server 2003= 10.*.*.200 .

    (3) Mac OS X Server 10.6 =10.*.*10 w88888.com DHCP service Disable

    (4) Mac OS X client 10.6 = 10.*.*40

    Network setting as follow
    Configure IPv4 Manually
    IP Address 10.*.*40
    Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
    Router 10.*.*.1
    DNS 10.*.*10
    Search Domains w88888.com
    Can I have help here please am stuck how can I get the Mac OS X client to connect to the internet any suggestion?:D
     
  2. Soverc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #2
    I think you might have something screwy with your default route- First off remove proxy settings for now on the machine having issues


    now type

    'netstat -r'

    If default route points to router/gateway

    try pinging gateway ping 10.X.X.1

    try to ping outside address ---ie ping 69.147.125.65 (ip=www.yahoo.com)

    If that works ping by domain name ping www.yahoo.com

    You should find the issue in one of the above things to check
     
  3. unclenice, Jun 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011

    unclenice thread starter macrumors newbie

    unclenice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #3
    Nothing still

    Hi Thanks for your reply Ok I ping 69.147.125.65 sent 10 received 10 but when i ping www.yahoo.com it says ping cannot resolve www.yahoo.com unknown host.
     
  4. Soverc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    #4
    Check DNS

    you dont have DNS defined. If using DHCP make sure it is passing DNS, or add DNS manually.

    network preferences/interface/advanced/dns
     
  5. unclenice thread starter macrumors newbie

    unclenice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #5
    still no joy

    Hi i did what your suggesting all my setting are ok but somewhere down the line something it is not right.

    as said my DHCP is disable from server only my windows Server is DHCP Lease i went to windows server on DNS and add my new server Pointer which i didnt do that now when am in my make client i can ping my domain name which i couldnt before but still cant ping yahoo.com give me same error cannot resolve www.yahoo.com Unknown host.

    thanks
     
  6. unclenice thread starter macrumors newbie

    unclenice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #6
    It Has been Resolved

    What i did to Resolve the problem forwarder IP Address was wrong plus i had to create a pointer on Window server which is DHPC lease server then On Mac Server Went to Server Admin----DNS----Setting-----Accept recrursive----localnet and on Forwarder IP Address 10.x.x.3 instead of router Ip Address of 10.x.x.1 Bingo it worked.

    Thanks your help mate.
     

Share This Page