Diablo 2 2/3 discs are hybrid...

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ajmalito, May 26, 2009.

  1. ajmalito macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #1
    I have Diablo 2 two of my three cd's are hybrids but my install cd is not does anyone know a way around my problem?
     
  2. theLimit macrumors 6502a

    theLimit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Location:
    up tha holler, acrost tha crick
    #2
    Register your game key on Battle.net and you can download the game client.
     
  3. BertyBoy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    #3
    Mmmm, back in the day, all 3 discs were definitely hybrid, as was the LoD expansion disc.

    If you have Toast, what does it report the disc as ? Just to check, make a disk image of the first disk, then mount it. Does it mount two images ?

    Unrelated, I still see D2 and LoD in PC game shops for £5 / $5 in the UK / US. But I encountered it in Electronics Boutique in NZ a few weeks ago, where they wanted NZ$50 (£20/US$30) for it. Unreal.
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    Download the universal installer from blizzard.
     
  5. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #5
    Not true. Some of the earlier ones were PC only, and may not have had a MacOS logo on them :(

    Cheapest option is to register a Blizzard account and download it. You must download all CDs unfortunately. The CDs will not mix with the download. You can do this here
    http://www.blizzard.com.account
     
  6. Ol3s macrumors regular

    Ol3s

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    L'viv, Ukraine
    #6
    All are hybrid, i was also confused at first, these files you see on the intall disk were for some older version of macos i think, any way you need a "diablo 2 installer for os x". it can be found here:
    http://us.blizzard.com/support/article.xml?locale=en_US&articleId=20758
     
  7. ajmalito thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #7
    um have a laptop running os x but...

    um have a laptop running os x but im playing Diablo 2 on a g3 running 0s 9 so do you have any suggestions for that?
     
  8. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #8
    No. Only from LoD they were all hybrid. For D2, the initial release was PC only, with the Mac compatible hybrids released a short time after. See here
    http://www.insidemacgames.com/news/story.php?ArticleID=5003

    Your only legal option would be to request a CD replacement of your set since the download will only run on OS X. For further information about this, read here
    http://us.blizzard.com/support/article.xml?articleId=20666

    If you are not from the US, be sure to use the International Contacts link towards the bottom.

    You could also borrow a CD set from a friend (burn a copy too), however use your own CD Keys when installing.
     
  9. soloer macrumors 6502a

    soloer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha
    #9
    Best answer.
     
  10. soloer macrumors 6502a

    soloer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha
  11. ajmalito thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #11
    hmmm

    what would b my illegal option, not i saying i will do it but just asking...
     
  12. Jethryn Freyman macrumors 68020

    Jethryn Freyman

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    You could always torrent it.
     
  13. ajmalito thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #13
    a little more help

    um can i torrent just the install disc? and from where?
     
  14. ajmalito thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #14
    um thx

    i resolved the promblem i just got someones cd key and downloaded onto my mac laptop....no hope for my g3 thx everyone!!!
     

Share This Page