Diablo 3 beta is online !

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by titatom, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. titatom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Montréal, QC
    #1
    The title says is all ! Blizzard has started the closed beta today ! Beta keys have been send (I didn't get one). Did any mac users get keys ? If yes, how is the game ?

    Can't wait to get my hands on it !! :D
     
  2. Dimitriy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Chernobyl, UA.
  3. Dr. McKay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
  4. Beaverman3001 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
  5. Killery96 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #5
    I was wondering if I got one and I logged onto battle.net and was dismayed to find that my beta options were for Starcraft and Warcraft only!!!! X(... ...Clicked on diablo, re-entered, and began to pray.
     
  6. Acorn macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #6
    great. if they are having beta now we should see it by july 2012
     
  7. titatom thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Montréal, QC
    #7
    maybe beta keys have not yet been sent to mac users. that would put some light in the long and dark tunnel that the D3 wait has been ! :D

    ----------

    If I am not mistaking, SC2 beta started around march and the game was released in july.

    We might see D3 for Christmas.... (I'm pretty sure that's what they are aiming for...but you implied it in your post, you the ******* know with Blizzard !)
     
  8. Aldaris macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
    #8
    If the past is any indication...

    Starcraft 2 beta, first went through the PC before a Mac beta was available. I would imagine although Mac users may receive invitations a Mac version will not be available for download and testing for a few weeks if not a month or so. But there is still hope as they get nearer to prime time and through additional beta (group) roll outs.
     
  9. padré macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #9
    I got a beta key a few weeks ago (F&F). The game is really good, their are quite a few differences since Diablo 1 & 2 (which I played like a mad man). The beta itself is quite fun though, it only took me about 5 minutes to get that Diablo feeling back.

    I was worried about the classes at first but all of them are really fun to play, though perhaps a bit strange in the Diablo universe. The monk kicks some serious ass!

    The beta doesn't include any side missions, its just a small part of the story line (only playable on normal difficulty). I still need to play trough it with some of the other classes, but I'll be sure to come back here and write about it when I'm done.

    I do feel confident to say that what I've played so far (even though its a beta, which you can clearly feel at some stages of the game so far) its a lot better then most games out there!

    -Brun
     
  10. Stovepiper macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    #10
    I don't have the link available at the moment, but one review that I read of the closed beta mentioned there being both a windows and mac client available for download. Kotaku even had a video of a guy running it smoothly on a Macbook Air. Apparently so far, closed beta keys have only been released to the press. I'm sure we'll be hearing about others getting keys in the coming days.

    There are some great videos of people playing on YouTube that have me friggin pumped. I can't wait to get my hands on this!
     
  11. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #11
    I seem to recall reading a post on the official Battle.net Diablo III forums from one of the developers. He said this time round the beta would be simultaeous for PC and Mac.
     
  12. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #12
    Seriously, it was running smooth on Macbook air ? That's great news indeed. I know my air will get extremely hot, but I'd love the ability to play it using wifi away from my iMac every now and then.
     
  13. titatom thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Montréal, QC
    #13
    I'm really crossing my fingers. I have an older MAC (probably near the minimum settings) so I'm thinking I have good chances to get a key !
     
  14. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #14
    good luck for those of you seek. personally, I am not interested in WOW, starcraft, diablo. these games are just out of my league. I don't like MMO or strategy games. well, enjoy yourself.
     
  15. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #15
    Diablo III is neither an MMO nor a strategy game. It's more akin to an action RPG.
     
  16. titatom thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Montréal, QC
    #16
    Force SC2 Strategy has some pretty good videos of the beta on Youtube if fans want to check it out !
     
  17. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #17
    IGN has them too.
     
  18. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #18
    You can find the system requirements here. 8600M / ATI Radeon 2600 is the minimum.
     
  19. padré macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #19
    @Stovepiper:

    That's correct, if you have a beta you can download both the Mac & Pc client for downloading the game. I'm playing it on my 27" iMac with all graphics maxed out (FSAA is disabled during the beta). I also have a Mac Pro from 2006 with a ati 1900 xt, a Macbook Pro from 2005, a macbook pro from 2008 and a macbook from 2009 on which I'll install the beta so I can compare the performances.

    My iMac has the following specs (for those who want to compare)

    Operating system: Mac os X Lion 10.7.1
    Processor: 2,93Ghz Intel Core i7
    Memory: 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
    Graphics: Ati Radeon HD 5750 1024 MB


    Yesterday I've tried some of the other characters (being the Monk, Wizard, Demon Hunter). So far I really like of them, but the Monk is definitely my favorite. His fighting style is really animated in a great way and its just really satisfying to see enemies flying around (even though the implementation of the Havoc engine gives some strange animation to dead bodies flying around and landing on the ground again with their legs behind their heads).

    One thing I do miss quite a lot is the skill system. It has changed really much in comparison with Diablo 1 & 2. Skills are being automatically assigned to you every time you level up (So my monk will level with the exact same skills as someone else's monk character). However, runes will give you the opportunity to pimp your skills (I have yet to find runes in the beta, I don't even think they're present in the beta).

    You also don't have the ability anymore to select multiple combat skills at the beginning. So from level 1-4 (or 6) you only can select 2 skills at a time, once you reach higher levels more active skill slots become available to you. This kinda weird in the beginning but it makes you think twice about selecting the right skill.

    The beta mainly exists out of zombies (a few specials, skeletons, strange imps and one big boss). I was kinda hoping to run into some typical Diablo (1&2) monsters (such as the fallen, I freaking loved those creatures) which I've seen in different videos of the game featuring other acts.

    One important thing to note is that this game feels very much like a Diablo game and not just another hack and slash game / rpg. Despite a more saturated color approach the game still feels very gritty and dark, the vibe and atmosphere is completely spot on.

    I also love how they've still use 2D elements (such as trees and certain other elements of the word) even though they look 3D thanks to lightning displacement maps. This really gives the world that Diablo feeling.

    At the moment the beta is only playable on Normal difficulty which in my opinion is way to easy (running trough the entirity of the beta with my level 11 monk takes me about 40 minutes max, thank includes going into every dungeon, killing every monster and exploring every part of the map). So veteran Diablo players will like to play on a more difficult setting once the game is released.



    I'll get back to you guys with more info once I've played some of the other characters. At the moment the game feels really polished and looks extremely beautiful, I do hope some of the character models get better textures and perhaps a bit higher poly count, its not something that bothers me while in the game slaying hundreds of monsters but it does feel strange on the character menu screen where you have a beautiful detailed background with a huge low polly character on it.


    Overal I'm extremely glad with how the beta is so far, if this game would get released with the quality it has right now it would already be a instant hit worth of 10/10 reviews.

    Cheers,

    -Brun
     
  20. Dr. McKay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium, Europe
    #20
    Ouch. I have an iMac with ATI Radeon 2600. Guess that's everything on lower than low.
     
  21. Rasan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #21
    Which specs did you upload? I still wonder if i should keep my Imac specs uploaded or should upload my MBA's Specs. They are both the 2011 models, so both should at least run it on low graphics right?

    They want to test the game on a wide variety of systems... maybe only few people have uploaded MBA specs, fewer than imacs.
     
  22. padré macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #22
    I uploaded my 27" iMac specs, but they have nothing to do with why I got in the beta. I'm part of the Friends & Family beta (meaning that I got a key cause I know people who work there). So I'm afraid I can't help you with what would be a good computer to use for sending your specs. Sorry :/
     
  23. G8R-Jim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    #23
    @Brun
    Are you able to run D3 in native resolution (smoothly) on your iMac?
     
  24. padré macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #24
    @G8R-Jim:

    Yes I most definitely can, at the moment I'm running the game in native resolution with all graphics maxed out. Haven't had a single frame drop, it plays smooth at all times even whit tons & tons of monsters on screen.

    From a graphical point Blizzard has been very wise on their approach of 3D vs 2D. The game looks and feels like a 3D world but lots of the surrounding and the models (suchs as vines / trees / stones) are 2D, with what I assume is a light displacement map that tracks the player (being the light source). This results in 2D objects that have a rounded (3D) feel. So you can't really see the difference. Much like deathspank uses 2D elements, only in a more subtle way. resulting in a not so graphically tasking game... just my two cents of course...

    ;)
     
  25. ctbear macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #25
    If anyone just want to see how their Macs would run, search for "D3Sharp"
    It doesn't let you actually play the game, but it is a good way to see if or machine runs Diablo well
    In my case, I have a 2010 15" MBP. I can run everything on max + native resolution, averaging ~40 fps. And this is under Bootcamp.

    (Btw, insert "Announces beta, doesn't invite anyone" meme here...)
     

Share This Page