Diablo 3 Beta

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Killery96, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Killery96 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #1
    Im on a 2.2 i7 machine with an AMD6750m. I recently got an invite to the D3 Beta! I'll post performance results on this thread cause I bet people are dyin' to know!!!
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    Just got into the beta as well. I have a 2.8 i5 and 1 GB 5850. Still downloading..
     
  3. Abyssgh0st macrumors 68000

    Abyssgh0st

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Norman, OK
  4. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #4
    omg...I thought I read somewhere they weren't planning to do a public beta.....

    I hate you guys.
     
  5. Cougarcat, Dec 7, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011

    Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #5
    The worst part is, I don't really have time to play this. I'm going to mess around with it for an hour today, then I am jam-packed the rest of the week, then I am stuck with my 13" MBP for a month...

    If it's any consolation, the mac beta is very beta-y. Got a weird error message saying that "Shane" (the name of my cat) is inappropriate. Changed it and then I got stuck on the loading screen...

    Edit: Played the first main quest. Screenshots don't do the game justice, it's gorgeous. Looks like an oil painting. Shadows on high killed the framerate, so I had to bump it down to medium. Blizzard's exquisite level of polish is present, even in this beta.

    Next week I will try to run it on my 13" MBP, if that's possible.
     
  6. cerote macrumors 6502a

    cerote

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
  7. Fandongo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    Space
    #7

    Hahaha, I easily wasted half of my high school life (and weak points in college) on D2 (and Counter-Strike for that matter)...

    From the Cow days of 1.09 with an ith bow i traded 45 sojs for (yes, i threw him 5 more after the max 40 as a sign of good faith on our arrangement)
    To whatever hell the more recent versions with annhis and crap.

    Want to play so bad...
    Must...get...job...be human...instead [gasp].
     
  8. Killery96 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #8
    I'm happy to say that on a 1680x1050 screen with a 1gb AMD6750m and a 2.2 i7 processor, the game runs smooth at all high, anti-aliasing, and native resolution, with negligible slowdown during odd moments when there shouldn't be lag (leads me to suspect the beta is a bit glitchy here and there). I got shot down because the 'servers are down' or 'could not connect', so yah... ...game servers should get healthier. Medium shadows do good things for the frame-rate. The game looks okay and the lighting is good however if you zoom in it's like the original Neverwinter nights which is not pretty. The action and SFX are great though and some of the monk spells just blow my mind. Can't wait to play some more...
     
  9. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #9
    Out of curiosity does the Beta invite come in the form of an email. Also do you need to own and have registered another Blizzard game to be eligible or do you just have to run the software to upload your computer's specifications and opt in to the Beta.
     
  10. Danno21, Dec 8, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2011

    Danno21 macrumors regular

    Danno21

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    #10
    You receive an email letting you know you're in the beta, but your Battle.net account is given access to the beta before you're sent the email.

    I was purchasing a digital WoW Battlechest they have on sell for $5 and when I checked my account, I noticed it had the Diablo 3 beta on there. Was pretty giddy =). Received the official email about six hours later.

    I agree that the graphics aren't what I thought they'd be. It's not as pretty as Stacraft 2 is. There was a lot of lagging going on as well, but I assume that's latency from being in beta. I have an i7 2.3ghz 6750M MBP and it runs okay on my 24" external monitor. My resolution is 1440x900 and I have everything on max except shadows, which are at low. Framerate can still slow down a bit when I am in multiplayer games.
     
  11. dont4get2flush, Dec 8, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2011

    dont4get2flush macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    #11
    D3 on new iMac

    I beat the beta a few weeks ago.

    I'm running on a 3.4Ghz i7 iMac, 6970M 2GB GPU. The game runs perfect in all ways on full native resolution (2560 x 1440) and maxed out settings.

    I can agree, the game is beautiful. I easily noticed myself getting sucked into the world of Diablo again.
    The randomized dungeons are huge, really great to explore and get items/gold/experience. It's nice that gold is actually useful now! The whole blacksmithing/crafting experience is really neat -and well done.

    The gameplay is great, especially as a barb -which I played as. The melee combat is very intense and you literally destroy enemies as you hit. Very gratifying :)

    The skills/talent system is not as bad as I thought it was going to be. I was worried that it would be too restringing as far as uniqueness among other players. It is, in some sense, but there is some tactics involved in deciding what skills to "equip" for each battle. (You have to go back into town in order to change your currently "loaded" skills).

    As far as the sound of the game: I'm a sound designer myself, and I can say that is't really great. The music is beautiful, I LOVE how Brower kept true to that iconic acoustic sound in the previous games. The music in Old Tristram almost starts off exactly like the Rogue Encampment in D2 -so, some nice nostalgic moments there. Overall, I'm glad they are emulating the musical experience from the older games.


    Now, I can't wait to get 2 EBOTDs, and an Enigma.... :p

    -Jon
     
  12. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #12
    How long did it took you to beat the game?
     
  13. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #13
    Hm...I was pumped for Diablo 3 two years ago when they started making announcements, but I've lost interest now.

    Maybe my interest will pique again once the game is out.
     
  14. PhantomPumpkin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #14
    You have to opt in.

    Just an FYI, you have to opt in with your battle.net account to be eligible for beta testing.

    Log in to your account, go to manage games, and then select beta profile settings(or something similar).

    You download a client and set up your beta account.

    Then wait. :)
     
  15. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #15
    Against my better jugjement, I went ahead and beat it...maybe two hours? Way shorter than Act I of D2.

    This is why I don't follow closely news on upcoming Blizzard games. Plus, it's more fun to discover new things yourself when you play the game for the first time. I had seen a few screens/movies, knew the classes (but not the skills) and knew about the random dungeons, but that's pretty much it.

    Regarding the graphics, I think they are far prettier than SC2, but maybe that's just because I love the art style. The environments are exquisitely detailed, and I especially love how you can manipulate the environment to harm enemies. The first time I (accidentally) dropped a chandilier on a group of baddies was great.

    The game was pretty stable funtil the boss, where it crashed 3-4 times.
     
  16. cppguy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, California
    #16
    It is by invitation only. Anyone can apply, but few will actually be invited.
     
  17. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #17
    The entire game? Seriously? That short?


    ...


    :eek:
     
  18. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #18
    The beta is just Act I. There will be 4 total.
     
  19. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #19
    Ok, thanks for clarifying! I was about to swear off buying it. Although only 2 hrs for act 1 is still pretty short....:(
     
  20. dont4get2flush macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    #20
    D3 Beta

    I have a feeling there is more to that act.
    There seemed to have been more places to go -beyond the cathedral. Another WP.
     
  21. iRCL macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    #21
    The beta isn't all of Act 1. It's like getting to blood raven on D2. Similar to the D2 beta. And yeah it's like 2 to 3 hours to play through

    I've been playing it a bunch and it runs absolutely great on my 13" 2011 MBA (Base) on full resolution and high textures setting. I was very happy to see that. It also integrates nicely for Lion (you can fullscreen window-mode and swipe between desktops and the game). I did turn off shadows because with 4 players the framerate does begin to take a hit.. the engine technology wise is closer to WoW than SC2 even and it runs very well on even the Intel HD 3000.

    It's a lot of fun and I can't wait for the actual version to come out. I love blizzard for having Mac OS X native not only on day 1 but on beta day 1
     
  22. ChronoIMG macrumors regular

    ChronoIMG

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #22
    16GB in 2017? Uh, dinosaur ;)

    Beta is very nice on my MBP. The graphics are interesting, wasn't expecting it even though I've seen plenty of screenshots. Looks like a living watercolor.

    Tip: Don't play until it's fully downloaded. Lags like crazy if it downloads in the background.
     
  23. cerote macrumors 6502a

    cerote

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #23
    And it is only a small part of act 1 too.
     
  24. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #24
    That, and if you try to go in a new room or building it will go to a loading screen and just sit there forever.
     
  25. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #25
    I've opted in but haven't got an invite yet. Here's hoping.
     

Share This Page