Diablo 3 on current mac mini?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by jchase2057, Mar 6, 2012.

  1. jchase2057 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #1
    I'm planning on buying a mac mini as soon as I sell my current machine. I'm not a huge computer gamer but Diablo 3 is one that I plan on getting. Can anyone with beta access let me know how the game plays on their mini?
     
  2. Johnf1285 macrumors 6502a

    Johnf1285

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    Just got the i5 6630m Mini... Will tell you as soon as the download finishes!!!!!!!!!!
     
  3. AcesHigh87 macrumors 6502a

    AcesHigh87

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    #3
    I can't say for certain because I have it running on an iMac, not a mini but on the iMac I can run it on high settings so you should be fine.

    Blizzard is very good at making sure their games run on everything. The SUGGESTED specs for D3 are only a C2D and 2GB of RAM... Don't even get me started on the minimum requirements.
     
  4. jchase2057 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #4
    Please do.
     
  5. Johnf1285 macrumors 6502a

    Johnf1285

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Ok. So with most settings to Low or Off with 1920x1080 res its getting what appears to be about 30fps, since I'm not sure how to check.

    It still looks good, but it's rough around the edges, literally (anti-aliasing puts a hit on the fps, as well as shadows).

    Will it run the game when its released? Certainly.

    Does it run it well? In my opinion, not really. But then again, it is an HD 6630m. A low end mobile grade GPU, with only 256mb for textures, etc.

    Then again, 30fps on low isn't bad at all.

    If you want your D3 fix, it will work.
     
  6. jchase2057 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #6
    That's kind of what I assumed. If only we had thunderbolt GPU's. Thanks for your help. I will be playing at 1280 x 720 so I'm sure it will be playable. It sucks there's no option to get quadcore and the 6630.
     
  7. Johnf1285 macrumors 6502a

    Johnf1285

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    Too bad the mac mini didn't take advantage of the AMD A8, that thing's graphics smash the 6630m i5 dual core combo to pieces IMO.
     
  8. namelessme macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    #8
    Although not ideal, you could try it at a lower resolution (yeah, I know scaling isn't the best either), and perhaps get med settings working.

    A laptop resolution of 1366x768 (or 1280x720) will be much easier on the graphics chip. I didn't check the 6630m, but even the lowly HD 3000 is on the list of supported chipsets for Diablo 3 (albeit at the lower end).
     
  9. SuperRob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #9
    I'm running the Diablo 3 beta, and it plays very well at 1366x768 on my HDTV. 1920x1080 was giving me some ghosting I didn't like, and the lower res gives more room for overhead.

    I've got the Mac Mini with the Radeon 6630 and a 2.5GHz i5.
     
  10. sMiK macrumors regular

    sMiK

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #10
    What settings do you use apart from the resolution? And what sort of FPS are you getting? :)

    I currently have a 2.53 GHZ C2D Macbook Pro 13" with a 9400m... Starcraft 2 is playable with low graphic settings, and on laptops resolution - impossible to go over to my 24" display and dare to go up from 1280x800 :( - slows down

    ps. I wish Apple released new mac minis soon with updated GPUs so we could run Diablo 3 on them at least on medium settings to get good experience on gameplay.
    :apple:
     
  11. SuperRob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #11
    Unfortunately, they removed the /showfps command in Patch 13, so I can't tell you FPS. (I haven't tried Patch 14 yet.) Other than that, I stick with the standard settings, since other than shadows, nothing seems to make a difference. The chip in the mini has a hard time with complex shadows, so you see the biggest performance boost lowering the shadow detail.

    Remember, this is a beta, so they still have some performance optimizing to do. The lower performance on the Mac has been reported to Blizzard and they're aware of it.
     

Share This Page