Diablo 3 will my mac run it?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by andant96, Apr 25, 2012.

  1. andant96 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #1
    Hello. I know theres been many of these threads. But i'm really curious about Diablo 3 and if my mac can run it.
    Here are my specifications.

    Operating System: Mac OS X Lion 1.7.3
    CPU Type: Intel Core 2 Duo
    CPU Speed: 3,06 GHz
    System Memory: 4 GB
    Video Card Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9400
    Video Card Memory: 256 MB
    Desktop Resolution: 1920 x 1080

    I know that my Video Card is kind of old.
    But i don't really care to much if i need to play the game on Low Settings.
    Just want to enjoy the game.
    Thanks and a reply would be much helpful.
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    Not on that resolution. You'll have to turn everything down, and it just *might* be OK. Definitely don't buy it till you can get a demo.
     
  3. andant96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #3
    I don't mind turning down the resolution. just want to enjoy the game and i just read that diablo 3 supports my graphics card.
     
  4. andant96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #4
    It seems that my computer is good enough for the recommended.
    Except my Graphics Card which go under Low.
     
  5. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #5
    The graphics are card is the most important thing and if that 9400 is an integrated card with shared memory which I think it may well be I'm not even sure it will be playable with everything on low.
     
  6. manPrime macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    #6
    Blizzard are normally quite good at having a 'demo' type client that you can download and try. Like Cougarcat said i would recommend downloading that and trying it first.
     
  7. andant96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #7
    Where can i get my hands on one of those?
    That would be amazing.
     
  8. fr4c macrumors 65816

    fr4c

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Hamster wheel
    #8
    They ran an open BETA/server stress just this past weekend. Not sure when and/or if they'll have another one since release is less than a month away.
     
  9. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #9
    There isn't one right now. They just had an open beta this past weekend as already mentioned when you could have tried it and seen how your Mac stood up to it. That's just what I did with my Mac Mini. I had already preordered the collectors edition but was glad to have a chance to confirm the game will run reasonably well on my Mac Mini as wel as a chance to play the game more extensively for the first time. I had played it for about 30 mins. At Gamescom last year.
     
  10. andant96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #10
    All right.
    Thanks anyways. I think i'm going to go with buying the game on release then try the game on low. I think that i will do alright.
     
  11. Sedulous macrumors 68000

    Sedulous

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    #11
    Is your MBP a model with a secondary discreet GPU? I tried the D3 beta using a similar system but running the discreet NVidia 9600M GT and it ran much better than I expected.
     
  12. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #12
    He already answered my question by saying he has the 13" model. Those don't have the secondary dedicated GPU which I have already mentioned in a previous post.
     
  13. doobybiggs macrumors 6502

    doobybiggs

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    #13
    how long until you think D3 has a demo to play ... I just want to make sure my mini can handle it before I pick it up.

    Also, if I run bootcamp, do I need to get the windows version or the mac version still?
     
  14. lythium, Apr 26, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2012

    lythium macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Location:
    IL
    #14
    Both versions come on the DVD.

    But, to clarify. Bootcamp is a dual boot system. You'll be running windows(and be susceptible to all the vulnerabilities of windows) and installing the windows version of the game.

    Personal note. Running windows on a mac is silly. The point of buying a mac is not use that ass backwards venereal disease of an OS we call windows.
     
  15. doobybiggs, Apr 26, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2012

    doobybiggs macrumors 6502

    doobybiggs

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    #15



    Oh sweet, both on the same dvd? I like that ...

    True, I would hate to use windows at all, but IF I did it would be to only play this game. I have read that, at least for now, D3 runs a little better on windows.

    I figure anything to help my poor little HD3000 IGP would be the best way. I just need to get the demo and find out I guess. Maybe once the game is released we will know for sure what can and cant play D3?
     
  16. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #16
    There have been a lot of patches lately from Blizzard that affect game performance in a positive and negative way, on both OS X and Windows. I guess you'll just have to read the first reviews after the game is released. Still, there are even now some youtube videos that prove the game is playable on HD3000 (running the OS X version of D3).
     
  17. doobybiggs macrumors 6502

    doobybiggs

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    #17
    yep will do ... although there is a difference between "playable" and playable, if you know what I mean.

    I am hoping I will not hit lag city in a dungeon boss fight with 4 other guys or whatever the number was per game. That would really start to annoy me!

    I know I will have to dumb down the settings, but I am hoping not completely to where to game looks like D1 lol
     
  18. joshualander macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    #18
    I'm currently in the beta with my 15" MacBook Pro on OS X 10.7.3/Windows 7 (Boot Camp) running a 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1024 MB.

    I find that my framerates are 10-20% FASTER on the Mac side; furthermore, mouse response is laggy on the Windows side, which leads to constant misclicks.

    At this point, I prefer the Diablo III beta on Mac OS.
     
  19. lythium macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Location:
    IL
    #19
    I found the beta to be "playable" on my MBA. I wouldn't want to do so for long periods of time tho. For a weekend, it was fine. For the next 4-5 years, i'm buying a new imac.
     
  20. andant96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #20
    I've heard that everyone playing the beta on a mac have problems. But Blizzard will patch that when the game will be released. So i think that the game will go alot smoother and slicker on mac when it hits the release.
     
  21. harryhood macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    #21
    My specs are lower than yours and I beat the beta and it all played flawlessly.
     
  22. rossip macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    #22
    Here are the system requirements of the beta, including unsupported cards:

    I don't see your card on the unsupported list, so I think you'll be ok. I played the beta and found that even at low setting, the game didn't look too bad. I think you should be able to enjoy it!
     
  23. muymal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    #23
    Here are my stats for 2007 MBP, ran the beta on low without problems at all.

    Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
    Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT 256 MB
    Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.3 (11D50)
     
  24. andant96 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #24
    Thank all of you for the information on how you did on the beta.
    I really want to play Diablo 3, so its no problem to play the game on low graphics.
    Going to preorder my copy as soon as possible.
     
  25. eLbanana, Apr 27, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2012

    eLbanana macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #25
    I played Diablo 3 last weekend during the open beta.

    You can check my specs in my signature.

    Had a smooth experience, except for bigger fights were the frame rate droped significantly but not every time. I think it will get better after few patches... Played on 1280 * 720 resolution with everything low except textures which i kept high..
     

Share This Page