Diablo II and 10.5.5 still doesn't work...

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Yaboze, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. Yaboze macrumors 6502a

    Yaboze

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    The Garden State
    #1
    On my Jan 08 Macbook.

    Un....be...lievable. How long has this been?
     
  2. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #2
    Is this a trick question :p

    Yeah I know it sucks :(
     
  3. alkar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #3
    NVIDIA drivers have been fixed though.

    I guess Apple didn't pressure Intel that much to update their GMA X3100 drivers.
     
  4. Rivix macrumors 6502a

    Rivix

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    #4
    I think at this point its up to Blizzard. I was really hoping for a fix. I want to play that game (for the first time).
     
  5. nuwonda macrumors newbie

    nuwonda

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #5
    Me too... but I really do not think it is up to Blizzard.
    I really think it is up to Apple and from what I understood any 256 color palette game is affected? Fallout for example won't run either?
     
  6. elmateo487 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #6
    So... does this all mean that it just doesn't work on the macbooks?

    What about the latest macbook pros?
     
  7. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    You might want to write to
    apple.com/feedback
     
  8. zamentor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #8
    Diablo 2 LOD success

    Apple released a Mac OS X patch 10.5.5 today and it resolves the startup issue with Diablo 2 on my Macbook Pro Core 2 Duo. I am also able to run with millions of colors, in stretched 800x600 mode without a CD in the tray.

    Great work Apple!
     
  9. Rivix macrumors 6502a

    Rivix

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
  10. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #10
    Diablo 1 is a Classic application only (OS 9 and earlier). It has never worked in OS X. You will need to find a PPC emulator (eg Sheepshaver) and set it up if you want to play it (or use the Windows version in Bootcamp etc.).
     
  11. Rivix macrumors 6502a

    Rivix

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    #11
    Well I held up as long as I could, but it looks like its time to crack open the XP case. Thanks for the reply!
     
  12. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #12
    Heh no worries - be sure to disable any external monitors when playing Diablo 1. It will crash after the Blizzard logo otherwise.
     
  13. Illidor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #13
    So are we waiting for a new patch, so we can once again, play diablo 2 on mac?
     
  14. jmb667 macrumors regular

    jmb667

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Philomath, OR, USA
    #14
    That's my understanding, yeah; rbarris says they're working on one and it should be available "soon". :D
     
  15. elmateo487 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #15
    No we are waiting for a patch to play Diablo 2 on macbooks. It already works on Macbook Pros.
     
  16. Geronimo51 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #16
    Hey everybody,
    Back in July of this year I used Pacifist (sp?) to change out the video card drivers so that I could use the 256 colors mode for Fallout 2. Well I deleted the game etc. and don't care about the 256 colors anymore. I just recently downloaded and installed the latest updates bringing me to 10.5.6. Part of the upgrade was video card updates. I have a MBP from July 2007, 15" with the 256 meg card etc. How can I tell if the latest Mac Software Update (10.5.6) over wrote the changes I made- I hope it did.

    When they package the Updates for OS X do the driver updates build upon the last update they released meaning a partial update- or does it completely remove the current drivers (whatever they might be) and clean install the new ones? I am going to assume its the full remove/clean install.

    At any rate if anyone could shed some light on how to view the drivers and secondly what should it be at?

    I found the ROM Version 3175... should I check the KEX number?

    Thanks!

    With 10.5.6 I can See the 256 option there and grayed out? Is this what it looks like to everyone else with 10.5.6?
     
  17. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #17
    10.5.5 fixed the problem for Macbook Pros. As you have 10.5.6, it would definitely include this fix. Installing any of these updates will also remove the old drivers that you were using before.

    Also, if you still were using the old drivers, OS X would boot to a blank blue screen :)
     
  18. Geronimo51 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #18
    Awesome!

    Thanks much!
    Perhaps Apple is really listening to us!
    Take care and happy new year.
    :cool:
     
  19. mgsfan18 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #19
    wait are you telling me that diablo 2 is os x? because when I first bought my mac (leopard) I tried running it and it told me that the classic environment was not supported. So can I play it on os x 10.5?
     
  20. jmb667 macrumors regular

    jmb667

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Philomath, OR, USA
    #20
    Yes, Diablo II is playable under OS X, assuming you use the Carbon installer. Otherwise you'll get errors and the game will be unplayable.
     
  21. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #21
  22. mgsfan18 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #22
    Thank you very much. I'm assuming there is still no way of running diablo 1 or starcraft on mac os x without running windows and os 9 with sheepshaver
     
  23. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #23
    Starcraft has an official OS X installer, but Diablo 1 doesn't. Just google it or look from Blizzard's site.
     
  24. imassents macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #24
  25. mgsfan18 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #25
    Wow awesome I have owned my mac for about 6 months now and here I was just assuming they wont work. thank you very much you guys
     

Share This Page