Diablo Ii Not Working On My Macbook!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by WETUNDS, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. WETUNDS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #1
    OK, so I've searched multiple sites and threads to find out why Diablo II doesn't run on my MacBook (10.5.8) and I have not found a solution. Can someone PLEASE give me a solution?!?! I downloaded the installer from blizzard and it installed fine but when I try to play, it unexpectedly quits within 2 seconds. I then tried to install with the discs, and it installed fine. I then downloaded the recent patch and it installed fine. When I tried to play however, it unexpectedly quit again right away without any menu screen. I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO FIX THIS AND IT"S VERY FRUSTRATING!!! PLEASE HELP ME SOMEONE!!! AHHHH!!

    Thank you very much! ;)
     
  2. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #2
  3. foiden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #3
    Funny enough, you might want to retry this with Snow Leopard. In an interesting twist, Snow Leopard actually fixes most of the issues with Diablo II, even on a Macbook with X3100 Intel Graphics. In Leopard, I was pretty much forced to use that patch and then I had to run it in Software more 256 colors. In Snow Leopard, you automatically get proper graphics for OpenGL (Millions of Colors) working again. It'll also do that enhanced mode (fullscreen only) where you get the cheap (they say enhanced) perspective visuals. Still, I like running it in a window better (a feature I love in the Mac version), so I don't usually play the game without the perspective switch.

    However, don't run the OpenGL with Thousands of colors. It seems not to work. Millions of Colors, yes it'll work. Won't look different, but apparently trying to set a screen mode to just thousands of colors isn't a mode supported with our current X3100 drivers. Might be different on Nvidias, but I don't know.

    On the other hand, Snow Leopard killed only 1 single app for me. For no method I've been able to solve, Myst IV no longer runs. It runs in Leopard with the permissions set correctly, but once you upgrade to Snow Leopard, you need to use Bootcamp or some Windows OS to play it. For now, Snow Leopard and Myst IV are a no go.
     
  4. CSilver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    It works fine on my Alum Macbook... Maybe try registering your game on Battle.net with your CD-key and try using their client...? Let me know if that helps...
     
  5. mcfancher macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    #5
    A buddy of mine is having the same problem almost. He downloaded the Mac Clients for both D2 and LOD from the Blizzard.net website after he entered in his CD Keys and installed the game that way. So they are the Carbon versions of the game on his Mac, but the game won't even start. "Diablo II quit unexpectedly." He is running Disk Utility right now to do some type of repair just in case and then is going to install Snow Leopard to see if that might fix it. If it doesn't, does anyone know what might be the problem and any solutions.
     
  6. Kugar77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #6
    ive had this working for about a year and half now...i remember encountering alot of problems initially but i somehow was able to get it to work quite well on my macbook pro. i'm the only person i know who is able to play it on a mac. sorry i couldnt be more help but it is possible! make sure its a legit copy
     

Share This Page