diablo III on rMBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by marcolino, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. marcolino, Jul 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012

    marcolino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Austria
    #1
    my question is as i heard that diablo III is rMBP ready:
    will it run smooth with maxed out settings on a rMBP and retina resolution?
    i hope there are some rMBP owners playing diablo III on their machines so they can answer my question...
    and what about getting a blutooth keyboard with it and conecting it to my hd-tv for diablo III gaming, will this work well?
     
  2. arashb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    #2
    I have D3 and a regular MBP so I can't answer your first question but I can answer the other two.

    Bluetooth keyboard will work and yes you can connect it to your HDTV.... but why? You bought the Retina MBP to have it dumbed down to 1920x1080?
     
  3. NMF macrumors 6502a

    NMF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #3
    No. Of course not. If a 27" iMac with a 2GB Radeon 6970m struggles to maintain 30fps with max settings at 2560x1440, why on earth do you think the significantly less powerful GeForce 650m would be able to accomplish 30fps (minimum) it at an even higher resolution?

    Geez.
     
  4. Pyrophor2011 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    #4
    Why would it have trouble? It's far beyond pathetic that a game that looks so old at launch would run so horribly, regardless of resolution. For what it is, I don't understand why it requires large resources.
     
  5. mattonthemoon macrumors regular

    mattonthemoon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #5
    Beat the game at 2880x1440 with all settings on high, but shadows OFF ,and v-sync on.

    Blizzard's implementation of shadows brings any GPU to it's knees for something so miniscule.
     
  6. NMF macrumors 6502a

    NMF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #6
    ...it doesn't? 2880x1800 is just a monstrous resolution, especially for a mobile GPU. The rMBP will smoke D3 at 1920x1080, along with just about any other game.

    Good lord, I can't imagine playing D3 at 20fps...
     
  7. PhaserFuzz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #7
    2880x1800 is playable at high settings with shadows off and no AA. There'll be some slowdown in certain sections, but it's not game breaking. Blizzard said they're going to release a patch that will optimize the game for Retina graphics, but no one knows when it'll be released.
     
  8. mattonthemoon macrumors regular

    mattonthemoon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #8
    Good lord, i couldn't imagine playing it at 1440x900...
     
  9. NMF macrumors 6502a

    NMF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #9
    Me either man, me either.
     
  10. jimmyjones macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #10
    Just jump on board.
     
  11. PhaserFuzz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #11
    It is fun, but it's not for everybody. Also, very addicting.
     
  12. marcolino thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Austria
    #12
    this is so cunfusing.
    currently i'm running it on a mid 2011 13 inch MBP base model and it runs really fine but it wont run smooth on a 2012 rMBP...?? wtf???
     
  13. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    Resolution, obviously. The rMBP has 4.16 million more pixels.
     
  14. tfannon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #14
    i have played diablo 3 on many machines

    a PC with Crossfired 7970 cards, an iMac with the 6970m, and the rMBP.

    It's all a question of choosing the correct resolution. For the rMBP, I found that 1680x1050 (which I believe it selects as its default) runs nice and smooth.

    And to the poster who asked if it is that fun: yes, especially if you have a friend to play it with. My wife and I beat it on the normal mode and our marriage is stronger for it.

    "Do you want to go out to a nice dinner tonight?" - me
    "No, let's just play Diablo 3 and get pizza" - my wife
     
  15. NMF macrumors 6502a

    NMF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #15
    Living the dream.
     
  16. Naish84 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #16
    i tried it some minutes ago, in bootcamp you can have better performance.

    in solo (infer act 1) at 2880x1800 with all high except shadows on low you get fps between 20 and 35, it is barely playable.

    same settings on 1920x1200 it goes around 50fps! the quality is still very good

    these results are without overclock
     
  17. mattonthemoon macrumors regular

    mattonthemoon

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #17
    turn shadows off.
     
  18. Meever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #18
    I've been playing native resolution low and performance has been abysmal on the osx side. Every time there's a lot going on (on any difficulty above normal that's very frequent) the game studders.
     
  19. Vegasboricua702 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #19
    I play max settings with max res and shadows on with no AA. Its still quite playable for me. I'll post up my fps tonight.
     
  20. Fortimir macrumors 6502a

    Fortimir

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #20
    My observations as well. I'm not that far in (Skelton King), but to this point I'm playing totally maxed out (even with shadows... but no AA) and I haven't noticed ANY slow down.

    There's a little tearing in some parts and V-sync does make it unplayable.
     
  21. ArchieNL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #21
    It's fine, I left everything on at 1920, I can play perfectly.

    Only thing is that the fans are going crazy and the small ledge on between the keyboard and the screen gets so hot you can fry an egg on there! If your OK with that; just install; it's a great game!
     

Share This Page