diablo III with maxed out settings on 2012 imac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by marcolino, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. marcolino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Austria
    #1
    I'm wondering if diablo III will run fluently with maxed out settimgs on a maxed out 2012 imac and its anticipated specs (new cpu/gpu, new ram...) on OS X lion or mountain lion as it doesn't on a maxed out 2011 imac...?
    i'm waiting for the 2012 refresh and really want an imac cause i like macs/mac os.
    i don't play games except diablo III and i don't really want to install bootcamp or parallels to run it nicely.
    btw: can anyone tell why games that are disigned for windows and mac os allways run smoother on windows?
     
  2. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    How long is a piece of string?

    and

    Games are optimised for Windows, sadly.
     
  3. Mister Bumbo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    #3
    With the expected specs for the 2012 iMacs it should run maxxed on at least the 27"-models. This depending on which cards Apple actually chooses and if they modify them or not.

    The main reason for games running better on windows than on OS X is because Windows uses something called DirectX, compared to OS X that uses OpenGL, these are a kind of software that is pretty much responsible for the communication between video hardware and software. The "technical" reason as to why games run better on DirectX I do not know exactly, but judging from history with for example Blizzard games, it takes them longer to optimize things for OS X and hence for OpenGL.
     
  4. iamdavekennedy, Jun 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012

    iamdavekennedy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Location:
    London / Belfast
    #4
    I've been playing Diablo III since I got my base 21.5" iMac last week, it runs fine so I don't know what you're on about here, I've got all the settings turned up to max, with FPS limited to 60 peak, and hitting ctrl-R to bring up my live FPS screening, even late into Act II it's fluxing between 30-40 FPS, running at the highest resolution the screen allows.

    I read so much about how the iMac "couldn't run Diablo III at maxed out settings" and initially started playing around half res with no aliasing and most settings at Low or Medium (where applicable) but knocked them up the other day to see how much tearing I'd get only to be surprised there was none.

    I don't know what this means, or how this works as specifications aren't something I nitpick over too much, but from my experience so far, your comment regarding the 2011 not being able to do it, is wrong!

    [Edit - Forgot to mention, the only time I have seen any sort of stuttering has been due to our weak (2mb) internet connection]
     
  5. Rlnplehshalo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #5
    If your serious about gming performance I would suggest installing windows 7 on a bootcamp partition with the bootcamp assistant;)
     
  6. cybert macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    #6
    On my iMac core-i7 with the 2 gb Video ram I run Diablo 3 maxed out without any problems!

    (Diablo 3 also exists native for osx)
     
  7. marcolino thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Austria
    #7
    i read here on the forum that diablo III dosn't run well under mac os x even on maxed out 2011 27" imacs. really wondering that its running fine on your base 21,5" imac...that would mean i don't have to buy a maxed out 27" model. so that's really good news, at least i could save some money to spend it on some other cool apple gear... :D
    im just wondering why some guys with maxed out 27" imacs report diablo III not running to smooth and others with base 21,5" ones say that it runs just fine...
     
  8. DeF46 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Belgium
    #8
    It's a stable 30 FPS on a 4850M late 2009 iMac witha small overlock (desktop 4850) at 2560 with low shadows and D3DOverrider... so I'm sure you can run it just fine on a new model ;)

    The problem people have is to get the game to a fixed 60 FPS. The game seems to have issues with vsync and locks at 30 FPS.

    That said, they added "max FPS" option which is great it makes things smooth even if you are at 30 FPS.

    PPS: Or uninstall this low poly P.O.S. and join the close beta for Path of Exile, best hack and slash I have played in a long time... It goes F2P around August. (edit: which btw, runs near 50 FPS on my 4850M at 2560...)
     
  9. marcolino thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Austria
    #9
    does a SSD improve gaming performance?

    if i order my imac with an SSD and install diablo III on it, will it make the game run even better, or wont there be any difference?
     
  10. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #10
    There are many factors that affect Diablo performance and not all of it is related to the computer. Issues include network congestion and server load.

    As for local stuff. How much RAM does the person have? what else are they running at the same time. Are they running it at the highest resolution with the maxed out graphics settings?

    Also, finally, everyones perception of "runs fine" is not the same. I think a 2012 iMac (if/when it's released) should be just fine for Diablo 3. As for getting a maxed out system or not... how long do you want your system to be good for your use? I think the high end base model with the 2GB VRAM and adding at least 8GB of third party memory. (Why 8? Based on the prices of memory, it's a good price point.)


    I'm not sure I've seen any reports on how an SSD affects Diablo 3.
     
  11. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #11
    Well, D3 runs fluently on the 2011 iMac native resolution, so it will surely run better on the 2012 iMac (if there will be such a thing).

    As to your second question: Windows GPU driver implementations are better (faster)
     
  12. iamdavekennedy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Location:
    London / Belfast
    #12
    I am the person in question here, and I have standard base model 21.5" (5 days since purchase) and I'm yet to see any issues on Diablo III asides from when someone else in the house is streaming or using dropbox on the network, I've had stuttering twice whilst playing and both times asked my housemates if they were doing anything on the network and those were the reasons.

    My specifications are base, 4GB RAM and standard HDD setup, I do however close everything on my system whilst I am playing Diablo III so that it is the only thing running.

    Using the Max FPS limiter to 60 FPS Max Foreground Frames Per Second and 60 FPS Max Background Frames Per Second I usually see a fluxuation whilst playing of 30 - 40 FPS in 'intense' moments with 3 other players in Public games, and a steady 60 FPS at all other times, I am yet to see it drop below 30 FPS at any moment which has been absolutely fine and playing smooth for me! And yes, I am running it at the max settings with VSync turned on, Anti-Aliasing etc all on too!

    As for other things I have installed on my system (incase anything on there reserves memory or CPU/GPU usage regarding 'helper' programs etc) I've only installed Diablo III, Adobe Master Collection, Adobe Muse, Coda 2, CarbonCopyCloner, Skype, Adium, Spotify, XBMC, Twitter, VLC, Things and Microsoft Office 2011.

    I rarely install anything other than that on any of my systems!

    I hope that helps, if the OP is buying with the intent of gaming regularly however (I am not an avid online gamer, my brother just bought me a copy of Diablo III to play alongside him. The only other things I play are Portal and Humble Indie Bundle releases) I would still advise them to go for the higher specification 27" they initially planned on, as whilst I find my base 21.5" works fine for this game, I know it may struggle with any upcoming games in the future which I presume may be of more interest to the OP than myself!
     
  13. HurtinMinorKey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    #13
    SSD will only affect load times. It shouldn't really affect game play.
     
  14. Bonut macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Location:
    Maryland
    #14
    I also have the 2011 base 21.5" iMac, the game runs perfectly fine. Only thing i have turned down is shadows on low, other than that everything else is maxed and running 45-60fps easily, occasionally if theres a HUGE group of monsters and 3 other ppl in the game with me i'll get a slowdown on my fps.
     
  15. russofris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    #15
    How will Diablo 3 run on a 2012 iMac?

    Step 1: Find the graphics chipset that the the 2012 27" iMac (Nvidia 680m is likely).
    Step 2: Find a Diablo3 benchmark with the 680m chipset
    Step 3: Assume that the performance will be fairly close to the benchmark.

    F
     
  16. Occamsrazr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #16
    ^ from the above link, diablo 3 hits 90.1 fps


    fyi
     

Share This Page