Diagnostic Test without Recovery Disc?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by legaleye3000, May 14, 2009.

  1. legaleye3000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #1
    I lost the recovery dvds that come with my mac.. I do have a Leopard retail dvd though...

    Is there anyway to run a diagnostic test without the original recovery dvds? Thanks
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Which Mac do you have? If you're lucky you may have one of the Macs that doesn't require the DVD to run the system self-test. If this is the case it should show up in the boot selector menu that appears when you hold down Option/Alt just after the Mac makes its startup sound, until it appears.
     
  3. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Do you have Applecare? You can download and install TechTool Pro from the AppleCare website if your serial number is covered.
     
  5. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #5
    I can use my buddy's Techtool Pro 5.0 (latest one)... Is that better than Apple's diagnostic test?
     
  6. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #6
    Off the top of my head, I would say yes. I don't imagine the TT they include with the APP to be better than the retail version.
     
  7. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #7
    If you have a retail Leopard DVD, you can do an Apple Diagnostics test.

    1. Insert DVD
    2. Reboot holding down 'D' Key
    3. Hit test
    4. ???
    5. PROFIT!!!

    Unless you are asking something completely different...
     
  8. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #8
    I tried and it doesn't work... I then found out that diagnostic tests are only possible using the actual recovery dvds and not the retail dvd.... (unless someone knows for 100% and can prove me wrong)
     
  9. LtRammstein macrumors 6502a

    LtRammstein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #9
    I've done the diagnostics test via my Leopard Install DVD.

    Make sure you use the 1st install disc.
     
  10. legaleye3000 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #10
    Yea, but that's the disk that came with your computer, right? Its a Leopard DVD that you separately bought...?
     

Share This Page