dialogue box in indesign... shortcut to highlight fields? like on windows xp

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by bob2131, Dec 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bob2131 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #1
    hi
    on pc...in indesign and other apps.....when you have a dialogue box....eg....image resize..... height..... for height....you can press alt and h and that field gets higlighted....so you dont have to use the mouse....

    on mac......... you cant do this right?

    for example.......preferences in indesign........command k........and say i want to go to units..........and then ........... highlight a filed....i have to use a mouse????????????????????????????? this is not good if true............. cause on pc.... keyboard keys allow you to do it all....... negating the need for mouse usage.....


    cheers.
     
  2. shecky Guest

    shecky

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Location:
    Obviously you're not a golfer.
    #2
    you....... can....... try.......... using............ the.......... tab......... key.
     
  3. bob2131 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #3
    no.......thats not really good......... its........ sometimes that doesnt even work....... and that is SLow.............SLOW..................

    is this a leopard thing or an indesign thing?

    this is NOT good..........

    windows xp is better than mac in this respect..........

    this way of doing things is
    1) SLOW
    2) VERY BAD FOR HEALTH AS IT PROMOTES RSI FROM MOUSE USAGE

    :(:eek::mad::confused:
     
  4. bob2131 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
  5. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #5
    Try exploring the Universal Access and Keyboard settings in System Preferences. That is your best bet.
     
  6. bob2131 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #6
    i have....windows xp wins on this front....(if im not missing something)

    even tabbing through the options in some apps and in some instances DOES NOT work, often.

    (i know about the option to turn it on and off)
     
  7. bob2131 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    #7
    and like in photoshop....

    layer options........blend modes.......

    you have to keep going there with the mouse.....and choosing an option.....

    on pc......you simply highlight the field and press the up and down arrow.....

    on osx.....highlighting the filed is not even an option.....only going there with the mouse and choosing from a drop down list is an option.......

    not good.....not good.....not good.....not good.....not good.....not good.....not good.....not good.....not good.....not good.....not good.....not good.....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page