Dictation on a mid 2010 Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by dgerch, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. dgerch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #1
    Hi, I have a mid 2010 Macbook pro (15 inch, 2.4 Ghz Intel Core i5) and I'm really interested in the dictation feature that will come with Mountain Lion. I'm currently running snow leopard and am still pretty happy with it but this dictation feature seems like a real good reason to update my OS. ls my current computer (2010 MBP) equipped to handle dictation?

    Do you think running Mountain Lion on my computer would be too taxing to the hardware or would it runs as smooth as SL? Thanks!
     
  2. merrickdrfc macrumors 6502

    merrickdrfc

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Location:
    Berlin
    #2
    Your Mac will have no issues at all running 10.8, I'd recommend having at least 4GB of RAM, but seen as you're on a 2010 MBP, I assume you already have at least that?

    Dictation is compatible with any Mac capable of running 10.8 with a microphone.

    You will simply have to downgrade Mountain Lion from the App Store when it becomes available next month :)
     
  3. dgerch thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    #3
    Thanks! Do you mean that I will have to use my own external microphone to use dictation, or could I simply use the one in my 2010 MBP? Also, when you say "downgrade lion" what do you mean? Won't I be able to simply download Mountain Lion?
     
  4. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #4
    No, you can use the mic that is built in. I believe "downgrade Lion" was a typo, as it has been edited to "downgrade Mountain Lion", and I assume it is supposed to say "Download".
     
  5. goaliefight macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    #5
    Where do you get this information? I hipe what you say is true. I want dictation for my mid2010 Macbook Pro.
     
  6. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

    Comeagain?

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    #6
    This is how Apple always does things. You use the built-in mic and/or camera when necessary. And I'm using it right now on a 2007 iMac, using the built in mic.
     
  7. ATC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    I am typing this on my 09' iMac in DP4 using dictation. It's working off the internal mic. It has worked flawlessly although it's hard to get used to saying punctuations. Still getting used to that.

    Funny thing, by default you need to press the "fn" key twice to activate dictation but it took me forever to find the key on my keyboard as I never had to use it before. :eek:
     
  8. pruppert macrumors 6502

    pruppert

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #8
    Great to hear that the built in mic works well.

    Once you're talking, how does it know when you're done? Do you have to hit function again or enter, or does it just auto detect the end of speech?
     
  9. Prime85 macrumors 6502a

    Prime85

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #9
    To use dictation you will have to tap the fn button twice while in a text box. then when you are done speaking you have to click the done button. to put comma or periods you have to say the words, which is kinda cool.
     
  10. Stayfly2407 macrumors 6502

    Stayfly2407

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    VA
    #10
    You dont have to hit "done" when you are finished, all you do is click the same "fn" button and itll do the rest:D
     

Share This Page