Dictation problem in Mavericks.

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by lesliewj, Aug 10, 2013.

  1. lesliewj macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    #1
    When I use the dictation functions, there is a problem, if I pronounce the word “product”,it always will be showed "protect" or "productive", have you guys ever met the problem?
     
  2. ATC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I'm gonna guess that there's a possibility that your accent may be causing the issue. In my case those two words are being recognized correctly and consistently, the words being "product" and "protect". By the way this was typed in part using dictation in Mavericks. Having said that, on occasion it does mistake my words for the wrong ones. Dictation is definitely not 100% foolproof.
     
  3. kftrainer macrumors regular

    kftrainer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    #3
    Is anyone having issues with enhanced dictation not working ?
     
  4. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    It hasn't been working since a few previews back. If I recall right it broke in DP3 but it might have been DP2.

    Normal dictation works fine though.
     
  5. ATC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Can't comment as I've only used normal dictation so far. I will be testing enhanced dictation soon but by the sounds of it it's not working anyhow.
     
  6. Kuwait macrumors member

    Kuwait

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Location:
    Kuwait
  7. lesliewj thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    #7
    thanks for your reply!

    thanks for your reply! But I tried it again, it's so weird that the same issue didn't happen to me again. I think that maybe it's not stable, especially under the poor networking condition. Do you think that the network condition will cause this issue? thank in advance!
     
  8. ATC macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    I can't see how a network issue would cause only specific words to consistently be mis-captured. I honestly can't think of why this word in particular is the issue when on my end it works fine (most of the time).
     
  9. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #9
    Still broken as of DP5 for me.
     
  10. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  11. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #11
    Not working in DP6. Get a never-ending, gray spinning wheel. Cancel button only. I'm guessing this fix is still at the bottom of the list for now.
     
  12. jent macrumors 6502a

    jent

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #12
    Does Dictation in OS X learn when a user right-clicks a word and "corrects" it? If I'm not mistaken, the spell checker in iOS will learn if you cancel a suggested auto-correct.
     

Share This Page