dictation time limit?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by doobybiggs, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. doobybiggs macrumors 6502

    doobybiggs

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    #1
    I am testing out the new dictation stuff and works great for the most part. However it is annoying when I am in mid thought and it cuts out on me and I have to set it back up .... is there a way to get around this or does it have a hard time limit no matter what?
     
  2. cnymike macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #2
    I've just discovered this time limit as well. It seems to be the same limit that Dragon Dictation imposes on my iPhone app.

    It really reduces the usefulness of dictation to almost a novelty.
     
  3. Benbikeman macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    I believe it's a 30-second limit. I just do one sentence at a time, which seems to work fine.
     
  4. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #4
    Dictation is just in beta mode, and everything must be uploaded. My guess is they're imposing this limit to make things easier for the servers, and that once it's no longer a beta function - you won't even have to upload it but it will be typing as you speak. Making editing "a tad" easier.
     
  5. doobybiggs thread starter macrumors 6502

    doobybiggs

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    #5
    now that would be nice to have. watching it type out the words while you speak would be amazing!
     
  6. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #6
    Yeah, and also it would make life easier than having spoken non stop for five minutes just to find a phrase in the middle of the text that you definitely did not say, and don't remember what you did say anymore :)
     
  7. Benbikeman macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    You'll never get word-by-word dictation because both Siri/ML dictation (which I'm sure are the same thing) and Dragon use context.

    For example, if you say 'There is a reason things work this way' it doesn't know initially whether the first word is there, their or they're - it waits to see what follows before it interprets the phrase.
     
  8. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #8
    Yes, but it's still a lot closer to real time and more effective than saying a bunch of sentences, wait for it to upload and then go through the whole paragraph.
     
  9. Benbikeman macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    Dragon tends to interpret a sentence at a time, and I work the same way with Dictate.

    I don't see it as a complete substitute yet, as it relies on a net connection and is subject to the vagaries of server loads, but having used it for a couple of days I remain impressed.
     
  10. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #10
    With Dragon, you don't have to stop, confirm, wait for upload, review, restart dictation. With Dragon, you talk and review at the same time.
     
  11. Benbikeman macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #11
    In theory, but in practice Dragon still makes mistakes so it's easier to review one sentence at a time. I'm really not finding much difference between the two when sat in my office on a fast connection.
     

Share This Page