Did an installer app follow migration onto my new iPhone3G?!?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Mescolito, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. Mescolito macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    Some time back (on my orig. jailbroken iphone) I seem to remember installing some sort of utility that allows you to touch the battery icon in the upper-right corner, and it will switch back and forth (with each tap) between the batt icon and a number (numerical value for percentage of battery left.)

    After going through the task of setting up the 3G (restore from old iPhone), I noticed the numerical value on the new iPhone.

    I can't remember the name of that app, if it was in fact an app from the installer.app, or when I installed it on the old iPhone.

    Is this maybe a feature that Apple added to all phones? or did this app follow the migration to the new iPhone3G? (I have NOT jailbroken the 3G, so I don't understand how or why this would have happened.)

    This kind of scares me, as what else was brought over that was not intended?

    Did anyone else who installed this app on the old notice it on the new?

    Thanks for your time!!

    TC
     
  2. Aravintht macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    doesn't work on my iphone so i guess it has been brought over via the back up
     
  3. Grothdmal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #3
    The same thing happened to me with my customize system strings, they got backed up I guess and when I upgraded they got put onto the new phone…
    Kinda annoying actually since I didn't jailbreak this one but everyone at the Apple store thinks I did.
    There goes my warranty… Now there's nothing to stop me from really jailbreaking it!!! :D
     
  4. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    I'm still on the original iPhone, but iPhoneHome was an application I was using to launch the camera upon double click of the home button. This still works for me despite upgrading to the new software.
     
  5. Mescolito thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #5
    Groth, did anything besides the batt indicator get transferred on yours? I wonder if a restore and set up without restore backup might eliminate these things?
     
  6. Grothdmal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #6
    Just the customize system strings (i.e. it says "Jesus" instead of AT&T and "Satan" instead of "No service") nothing else followed the migration. And a restore + setting up as a new iPhone does fix it (at least for me).
     

Share This Page