did any one get the net10 new carrier update ?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by RiChZ, Dec 4, 2013.

  1. RiChZ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    #1
    I just updated my net10 now its TE 15.7
    it went from 4G to 3G now wtf is going on ?
     
  2. RiChZ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
  3. chitown3014 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    #3
    I have a 5S on Straight Talk and also received a carrier update 15.7 . It's doing the same thing on my phone. When it's not on LTE it drops to 3G, used to be 4G.
     
  4. geodiv macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    #4
    updated carrier settings to 15.7

    lost 4g. really disappointed! BOO!

    am in Chicago area.

    running
    iOS 7.0.3
    iphone 5
    straighttalk
     
  5. corvette, Dec 5, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2013

    corvette macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #5
    running
    iOS 7.1
    iphone 4s
    straightalk

    update: mine also dropped to 3G
     
  6. RiChZ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
  7. corvette macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #7
    As far as I can tell, the APN settings are identical, and no network modes are locked out (still connecting the same). TFDATA has been getting faster lately, which is a huge step forward.

    It says 3G because in most of the world, UMTS is considered 3G. Only AT&T/T-Mobile call it 4G. The iPhone automatically says 3G, unless there is a tag in the carrier file to make it say 4G. This tag was removed. And that seems to be the only difference in this update. If your phone can access LTE, it will show LTE.
     
  8. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #8
    Speaking generically, what displays on the screen may not mean exactly what we think it means. :) <channeling Bill Clinton>

    Without more details, all I can offer is that different carriers have different definitions of 4G and each tower has specific capabilities (more than just 4G or 3G).

    With rose colored glasses I'll say that perhaps the logic to display 4G or 3G changed, not the service itself. But someone might have information from practical experience instead of my WAG.

    BTW: No update for me. AT&T (5s running iOS 7.1 b1 if it matters).
     
  9. geodiv macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    #9
    3G seems slower!

    I've been running Speedtest since it changed!

    Last 2 results show download speeds less than 1.5Mbps.

     
  10. ahm82ed macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    #10
    me too and I have no idea why! I use 5s
    However, in the 4s still 4G !!
     
  11. ARODI macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #11
    GOT THE SAME PROBLEM JUST UPDATE TO 17.5 ON NET10 AND 3G APPEARS I SPOKE TO COSTUMER SERVICE AND NOBODY CAN ANSWER ME WHY?
    THEY SAYS THAT IS AT&T UPDATE CANT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT
    THATS SUCKS!!!:mad:
     
  12. corvette macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #12
    They didn't fake anything, they removed code from AT&T that fakes it. iOS normally displays UMTS as "3G" but AT&T has an override flag that makes iOS call it "4G" instead. This is a marketing thing to distinguish it from Verizon and Sprint's much slower 3G network. This flag has been removed from the TFW carrier file causing the underlying default UMTS indicator - 3G - to be displayed. LTE is still LTE.
     
  13. Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #13
    Ouch...no need to YELL!:eek:
     

Share This Page