Did anyone know this? I ididn't:)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by vmachiel, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. vmachiel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #1
    On the iphone 4 and 3gs: ff you go to the multitask bar and swipe left twice, you get a volume bar. I never knew:p when was this implemented? I know not in iOS 4 so 4.1 4.2.1 or 4.3?
     
  2. blancoBronco macrumors 6502a

    blancoBronco

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    South Tampa
    #3
    it's been there since 4.2

    /thread


    edit: my bad, meant 4.2, not 4.0
     
  3. Etnies419 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #4
    Nope. I'm still on 4.1 and it's not there for me, so it had to have been added after that.
     
  4. iApples macrumors 65816

    iApples

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #5
    It was actually added in 4.2. Don't get too far ahead of yourself.
     
  5. blancoBronco macrumors 6502a

    blancoBronco

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    South Tampa
    #6
    ya i messed up, i fixed it though
     
  6. Pink∆Floyd macrumors 68020

    Pink∆Floyd

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Location:
    Up There
  7. mnsportsgeek, Mar 28, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011

    mnsportsgeek macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #8
    pretty sure it was 4.2... might have been 4.1
     
  8. stewartws, Mar 28, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2013
  9. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #10
    Huh, totally didn't know that, though it seems easier to use hardware volume control on the phone/headphones. Nice to know either way.
     
  10. iApples macrumors 65816

    iApples

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #11
    The volume controls on the actual device most of the time are for the ringer. Not for actual sound. (Unless the sound is already playing) So I think it's nice being able to control both.
     
  11. sbddude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Location:
    Nor Cal, USA
    #12
    There's a JB app called "App Switcher Ringer" that lets you change both the media volume and ringer volume from this.

    There is a slider and a speaker/bell icon below it. Tap the icon to toggle between media/ringer.

    You can also set your volume buttons to control ONLY the media volume, like on an ipod touch. I like it this way so that I can lower the volume and know that a media app won't unexpectedly play sounds.
     
  12. blancoBronco macrumors 6502a

    blancoBronco

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Location:
    South Tampa
    #13
    You also get more accurate volume control using the virtual adjuster, instead of the buttons that adjust the volume at preset increments
     
  13. EddyP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #15
    Ah. Makes sense.

    [whiny apple customer who wants it all]
    I'd rather it be something that's harder to get to in the menus. Like screen brightness.
    [/whiny apple customer who wants it all]
     
  14. joec1101 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    So Cal, USA
    #16
    You will also see a selector icon to the right of the volume slider to select an Airport Express or AppleTV for audio/video Airplay streaming (providing of course you have one or more of those devices present on your wifi network) :)
     
  15. mnsportsgeek macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #17
    Stupidest thing ever. Is 16 volume settings not enough? Can you really tell a difference by using the virtual slider? No...
     

Share This Page