Did Apple disable FaceTime over 3G in iOS 7.1?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by jwolf6589, Mar 29, 2014.

  1. jwolf6589, Mar 29, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2014

    jwolf6589 macrumors 6502a

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #1
    Can you use Facetime over 3G (not WIFI & not 4G) on your iPhone 4S? It worked like a charm under iOS 6.x and Apple has decided to disable it under version 7, and all without telling us! Shame on Apple! I have high suspicion to believe Apple has done this, so can anyone else confirm my account? I have tested FT over 3G on multiple iPhones and all confirm my theory. Can you?
     
  2. bradl macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #2
    Works fine for me. 64gb iPhone 4S. Though, I'm still on 7.0.6.

    BL.
     
  3. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #3
    Did you try with WIFI disabled? Try over the 3G network, so try when you are in your car and away from WIFI.
     
  4. Linkiepoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
  5. antiprotest macrumors 65816

    antiprotest

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    #5
    If anything, it's working even better than before.
     
  6. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    What carrier do you have? They have the ability to disable this functionality as well.
     
  7. djtech42 macrumors 65816

    djtech42

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Location:
    West Chester, OH
    #7
    It's working for me. It probably has something to do with your carrier.
     
  8. Vinamra macrumors regular

    Vinamra

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #8
    Works fine for me in Australia. FaceTime over Cellular depends on your carrier. If your carrier has allowed it on your plan, you'll be able to make FaceTime calls.
     
  9. razamith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    #9
    Facetime without wifi

    Facetime can be used through cellular networks such as 3G and LTE. In terms of devices, iPhone 4S, iPhone 5 and iPad third generation onwards supports the use of Facetime without Wifi. This means Facetime can be used through cellular data capability. Most of the network operator in the world support the video data transfer communication via Facetime. Check this article MyInstantMessaging. :)
     
  10. jwolf6589, Mar 30, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2014

    jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    Sprint but they claim they have not disabled it.

    What are the facetime requirements over 3G in ioS 7.1?

    Yesterday I ran the test and had 2.24Mbps download and 0.94Mbps upload and it still did not work and the other person had WIFI. Go figure.
     
  11. navodwickra macrumors 6502

    navodwickra

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
  12. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #12
    Just tried it on my Verizon iPhone 4S on 3G (CDMA) and it worked. Wifi off. However I hung up on the person immediately when answered.

    When you say it doesn't work what exactly is happening when you try to initiate a FaceTime call?
     
  13. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #13
    It says connecting.... and never stops saying that. I believe it to be a Sprint issue in the state of Colorado.
     
  14. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #14

    It's a carrier issue. You're lacking the bandwidth necessary to establish and maintain a FaceTime connection. That doesn't surprise me with Sprint. My 4S will do exactly the same thing on Verizon's slow ass 3G on occasion. I tried it out between my Mac and 4S on 3G which is on 7.1 last night. Worked albeit slow and would black out quite often.

    If it was disabled you'd get a message saying so.
     
  15. jwolf6589, Apr 3, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2014

    jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #15
    I am having this problem all over Colorado. But strange and very strange that I did video chat everyday over 3G in SC with Sprint and never had this problem. However I was running iOS 6.x and maybe iOS 7.x increased bandwidth.I just do not understand why FaceTime worked well in SC.

    But looking at the coverage map I can see that Greenville is all 4G and my area in CO is all 3G and that is why FaceTime worked well in SC but not in CO.
     
  16. WB2Colorado macrumors regular

    WB2Colorado

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Durango, Colorado
    #16
    I have a problem with FaceTime Audio over 3G where it will ring the other person and they will answer it but it will just keep giving me the ringing tone until it says "(Name) is not available for FaceTime." Is this similar to what you're experiencing?
     
  17. jwolf6589 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jwolf6589

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado
    #17
    No it says connecting..... but never connects. The reason for the problem is the lack of a 4G network in Colorado. Looking at the Sprint Map my former state of South Carolina was mostly all 4G and so my 3G phone worked allot faster and FaceTime always worked.
     

Share This Page