Did Apple Make a single CPU 1.2GHz PowerMac G4?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by RedCroissant, Oct 28, 2013.

  1. RedCroissant Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #1
    The PowerMac G4 that I acquired and thought was a 733MHz quicksilver, is actually displaying under systems profiler as having a 1.2GHz CPU. I put Leopard on it and it ran absolutely fine, and then installed 10.4.11 on it just in case the leopard install caused a problem with the CPU display information.

    Even under Tiger though, it shows the 1.2GHz speed. So right now this is the info displayed:

    Machine Name: Power Mac G4
    Machine Model: PowerMac 3,5
    CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (3.3)
    Number of CPUs: 1
    CPU Speed: 1.2GHz
    L2 Cache(per CPU): 256KB
    L3 Cache(per CPU): 2MB
    Memory: 1.12 GB
    Bus Speed: 133MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 4.2.5f1
    Serial Number: (not going to post this, but I verified it and it comes up as a 733MHz QS)

    Thanks in advance for any help with this. Let me know if there is something else that I should post t help figure out what's going on with y machine.
     
  2. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #2
    I would guess that the previous owner had upgraded the CPU.
     
  3. RedCroissant thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #3
    I guess that does make sense! How would I check that? An if they upgraded the CPU, then wouldn't it have something higher than the same level 2 and 3 cache than the 733MHz version?

    And that would also explain why it ran Leopard so well.
     
  4. zackkmac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #4
    I would open it and look at the CPU. I know the Sonnet upgrades I've bought came with a purple heatsink.
     
  5. brendu macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    yeah, thats exactly what I was thinking.
     
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    733 has 256k L2 and no L3. Your has upgraded CPU for sure.
    Most of CPU upgrades had different color and shape of PCB and different heatsink than stock ones.
     
  7. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Post a picture of the cpu. This may help to identify the thing.
     
  8. RedCroissant thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #8
    well I opened up the PM again and this time removed the heat sink and cpu, but I didn't feel comfortable removing the heat sink because the torx screws connecting them had small post in the center and I don't think I have the right tool for that.

    However, here is what was on the bottom of the board as far as stickers go"

    A1806

    SG4TS-1000-B4 REV B
    WC209117-2 : 100243

    The closest thing I found was a Sonnet upgrade(but the numbers don't match) and my heat sink is gold as opposed to purple or silver.
     
  9. Zotaccian, Oct 29, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2013

    Zotaccian macrumors 6502a

    Zotaccian

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #10
    Well the codes point it to Sonnet but indeed 1GHz, I think either it was overclocked to 1.2GHz (raising multiplier) or then it was shipped with wrong label.
     
  10. RedCroissant thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #11
    well I'm glad that at least now I know that there's nothing wrong with the machine. Now I just have to see if it will sell for a good price!
     
  11. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #12
    It most likely isn't overclocked, because AFAIK all Sonnet CPU upgrades are self adjusting i.e. have no user configurable PLLs.

    It seems to be this issue:

    Anyway, great deal OP.
     
  12. RedCroissant thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #13
    Thanks for this, so I will take care of that!

    And if you're interested or want to provide some insight, please look at my ad in the marketplace forum!
     
  13. havokalien macrumors 6502a

    havokalien

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Kelso, Wa
    #14
    Weight

    Due to weight the CPU upgrade will probably get you the best money rather than the machine. Plus you won't need packing material that way.
     
  14. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #15
    Looks like a second gen OWC mercury extreme. More info can be found here, on their website.
     
  15. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #16
    All PowerPC CPUs do. Everything from the 601 to the Power8. They most likely hid resistors, or embedded them as PCB traces.
     
  16. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #17
    Visible enough?
     
  17. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #18
    Not all PowerPC CPUs have ever had them traced out to the logicboard or even had them added beyond the planning stage. Some of the earlier PowerPC 60x are examples of that with Macs. Then extending the scope to include many other embedded PowerPC chip, very very few of them have any form of a PLL beyond what is hardcoded into the CPU microcode.
     

Share This Page