Did Apple remove "scrubbing" from new appletv?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Ghost31, Apr 5, 2016.

  1. Ghost31 macrumors 68000

    Ghost31

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    #1
    At some point, I don't even know when it came about, but I noticed that if I swipe the remote touchpad during a movie or show it doesn't scrub forward or backward anymore. A little "10" highlights and then goes away. Is this normal? Or did Apple take out the ability to scrub? Cause I really liked it
     
  2. Hermes Monster macrumors 65816

    Hermes Monster

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Indeed they did, you now have to pause (click siri remote) then scrub and then click again to resume at the point. I find this very annoying to be honest, and preferred the old way. The occasional accidental scrub was fine. Would be nice to have the option to choose which method you prefer ...
     
  3. Ghost31 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Ghost31

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    #4
    That was super helpful. I didn't even realize we got dictation. I've been talking to my tv spitting titles at it and stuff for the past 10 minutes.
    Super bummed. And I agree with the last part: the option to have it stay the way it was would've been nice. I liked being able to pick up the remote and scroll through scenes without pausing it first. Felt more fluid. Ah oh well.
     
  4. Milton Barber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    #5
    With ATV4 you can scrub forward or backwards by squeezing the right or left edges of the trackpad, you don't have to pause. (Doesn't seem to work for ads.)
     
  5. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    As mentioned above, this changed with the 9.2 update. Edit: the 10 second skip still works by pressing the edges but the scrubbing doesn't behave the same as before.
     
  6. zhenya macrumors 603

    zhenya

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    #7
    This does seem to be somewhat app dependent. On some apps I get the new behavior, on others I get what feels like the old behavior, but maybe less sensitive. Either way, they seem to have greatly dialed back the sensitivity of the remote. It used to be I could barely pick it up without triggering some unwanted behavior. That doesn't happen much anymore.
     
  7. bluespark macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Location:
    New York
    #8
    It would be nice if this were an option that could be changed in preferences. While some no doubt dealt with accidental scrubbing issues, others scrub frequently and would prefer to do so without constantly clicking. Apple's new default probably is the correct one, but it shouldn't be the only way.
     

Share This Page