Did I get a matte screen and not know it??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Achiever, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. Achiever macrumors 6502

    Achiever

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #1
    I feel really dumb even writing this....BUT: last weekend I purchased a 15" base model MBP from my local Apple Retail Store. I asked the clerk for a glossy screen model. He brought out a box that did not indicate what sort of screen it had, so he went into the back to check with someone who allegedly advised him that the default screen is glossy, therefore if the box does not specify matte screen there is a glossy screened machine enclosed.

    I am genuinely wondering now if I got a matte screened machine instead. The two reasons I think this are the screen is in no way as reflective of light as my iMac and the colors are not nearly as vibrant as they are on my iMac, which has a glossy screen. Short of taking my laptop into a retail store and placing it next to the displayed MBPs to compare/contrast, is there any way to tell? Can anyone confirm the whole box-listing story the clerk gave me? Thanks.
     
  2. forafireescape macrumors 6502a

    forafireescape

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    The default for the MBP, if I'm not mistaken, is matte. I had to change mine to glossy when I ordered it online. So if it's the default model, I wouldn't be surprised if it was matte.
     
  3. bcaslis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #3
    He was wrong, the default is matte. If it doesn't list anything on the box, it's matte, it will list it on the box if it's glossy.
     
  4. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #4
    If you bought it in a store, then it is matte. You can only get glossy as a BTO option from the Online or Phone store.

    TEG
     
  5. PhaserFuzz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
  6. Hls811 macrumors 6502a

    Hls811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    He's right... They did the same thing when I got my last MBP (Not intentionally of couse) - but I left the store and then noticed that the box said 'Glossy" - when I went back and they swapped it the correct box didn't say Matte (or glossy).
     
  7. Achiever thread starter macrumors 6502

    Achiever

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    #7
    That REALLY pisses me off. I just spent three days getting this set up and thinking "gee, the colors aren't as bright as I thought they would be." Now I have spent hours customizing this bird and it takes a lack of reflection under my bright office lights to click. Now I need to figure out whether it's worth switching and whether I will be charged a restocking fee!

    This vexes me. I am vexed.
     
  8. heatmiser macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #8
    If you use a program like CCC to clone your hard drive, you can have a new MBP set exactly like your current one once you reinstall the program on said MBP and run it.
     
  9. forafireescape macrumors 6502a

    forafireescape

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #9
    They shouldn't charge you - it was their fault. If they try to, just lay down the law. It was their mistake, you didn't just change your mind or something.
     
  10. Area51Tazz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Frisco, TX
    #10
    I concur!
     
  11. zeesa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #11
    Yes I agree... just be really nice but firm. They want to help you if you're nice!
     

Share This Page