Did I get charged for WiFi? 5.3MB = $80? RIDICULOUS!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mrat93, Aug 9, 2007.

  1. mrat93 macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #1
    Early last month I took a vacation to Canada. I used EDGE ONLY once to check MySpace because I actually needed to. Somehow, I was charged a little over $80 for one use of EDGE. I checked MySpace on Tuesday. There is NO way I used EDGE this much on vacation.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. paleck macrumors 6502a

    paleck

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    with the Tequila!
    #2
    It looks like you got charged for using EDGE while you were roaming in Canada. Wi-fi connections shouldn't even show up on your bill as far as I know.

    I can't believe how expensive that is though...5.3Megs cost you $80.00!!! :(
     
  3. kdarling macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    First university coding class = 46 years ago
    #3
    Ouch.

    Looks like you used EDGE a lot.

    I wonder what the big 4MB transfer was. A video clip?

    This is why the iPhone will not be used much in Canada. It's like $16-20 a megabyte!

    :(
     
  4. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #4
    Do anything other than web browse?

    Yes, roaming data transfer is ridiculously expensive.

    Did you do *ANYTHING* other than that one web browsing incident?

    Was your phone checking your email every half hour, hour, etc?

    Did you ever use the weather, map, or stock widgets?

    YouTube?

    All of those use data. It sounds like you may have left email checking turned on. (Also note that every time you go into your email box, it checks your email, even if you have it set to 'manually check'.)

    Based on the few KB of data every hour, I'm guessing it was checking your email. But, the big one is the $60 for 4 MB on 7/9 at about 11:00 AM. Either you got a very large email, or else that's your MySpace visit. Does the MySpace page you went to have a lot of pictures, or any video or audio you loaded?

    I wish there was a way to turn of EDGE without turning off the phone, for just such international traveling situations. But there doesn't appear to be.
     
  5. Rooskibar03 macrumors 65816

    Rooskibar03

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #5
    Doesn't Visual Voice use EDGE to check and download messages?
     
  6. mrat93 thread starter macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #6
    Question 1: Yes, sent a 214kb email one day.
    Question 2: I manually check for email, only in WiFi.
    Question 3: Weather, Maps & Stocks, all in WiFi
    Question 4: YouTube only in WiFi.


    EDIT: Also, all I checked in MySpace were my Bulletins. And in case anybody's wondering why I had to check MySpace, my friend called me to tell me that someone (known to be incredibly stupid and knew I had the iPhone) posted a bulletin saying "Mike's not home and neither is his family, so we're throwin a pool party at his house. Call me." I had to see it to believe it.
     
  7. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    Yes it does.
     
  8. mrat93 thread starter macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #8
    For some reason, for the whole trip, when I checked for Voicemail, it said "Visual Voicemail is unavailable right now." So it wasn't that.
     
  9. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #9
    This is pretty scary. This is why I want to be able to disable EDGE and not WiFi. Example: Planning a trip to Mexico next week and I want to check email while on WiFi but not on Edge. However, if I turn on my phone it will try to check EDGE first before I have a chance to make sure WiFi is on. My plan is to disable my EMAIL Account and then maybe enable only if I am sure I am on WiFi. But this is pretty crazy. I should be able to disable EDGE.

    Anybody else have a sure fire way to handle this?
     
  10. sJv macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Sierra Foothills, CA
    #10
    Remove the SIM card. Everything else should still work. You obviously won't be able to make calls, though.

    The iPhone SCREAMS for VOIP!

    -steve
     
  11. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    I think actually, it isn't even just a ripoff of roaming by your service carrier... EDGE in Canada is expensive even to Canadians. It's a prime reason speculated for the delay in iPhone availability to our beloved Canucks. See here.
     
  12. The Prise macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #12
    sorry man but the big issue that was announce even before the phone was out was that you needed to buy a data plan for it. your phone is constantly sending out and receiving data while its on. Thats how the widgets work.

    your best bet is to call att and ask for a courtesy. and next time don't bring your phone to canada or turn it off.
     
  13. slick316 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    #13
    Looks like you got charged $0.015 per KB for data in Canada, which seems about right for what Blackberry and Smartphone users are charged.

    Here is a clip found in the iPhone Agreement about Int. Roaming:

    -International Roaming: Substantial charges may be incurred if phone is taken out of the U.S. even if no services are intentionally used.

    http://www.wireless.att.com/learn/articles-resources/iphone-terms.jsp

    Looks like a data plan is offered for $25 a month that allows 20MB data transfer, with $0.005 per KB overage.

    International roaming is expensive since your provider gets charged whatever the other countries provider wants to (in this case, it was probably Rogers).

    Live and Learn.
     
  14. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #14
    Between this, and the 3,000 dollar thread... I wonder how long until we see an "AT&T's Dirty Little Secret" site spring up?
     
  15. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #15
    Holy bajebus!

    Well now I know not to use EDGE when I head to Montreal next month.

    Man that really sucks. I suppose it is also in the fine print somewhere and getting AT&T to reverse them would be next to impossible.
     
  16. Canuck4 macrumors 6502a

    Canuck4

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    #16
    welcome to Canada :D
    the country that people pay up the a$$ for web usage
     
  17. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #17
    Thanks. Ex-Verizon customer so no SIM Card before. Just removed it and my Wifi worked great for all applicatoins and actually seemed faster. However, after re-inserting the SIM Card Wifi does seem to be the same speed (maybe just excited everything was still working).

    And you are right, VOIP would be great. But at least I can do SMS and EMAIL while in WiFi. I can also use IM if needed (MSN IM works in my browser) but not that well.
     
  18. Angelo921 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #18

    I live in Chicago and last week I took a trip to Galena, IL where ATT service was spotty. I was able to make some calls and noticed when I came back home that those calls took a few days to appear online in my call log. I was told by ATT that the reason was because those calls took place outside my local calling area. I wasnt charged extra for those, they just came out of my minutes pool. My question, I also used EDGE for email and surfing the net (when I was able to get a signal in Galena). Im assuming that I would not be charged anything extra for EDGE also. Is that correct?
     
  19. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #19
    I think that's correct. You should never get charged roaming fees anywhere within the United States, as far as I know.
     
  20. cdd543 macrumors 6502

    cdd543

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Denver
    #20
    Different ball of wax entirely. You don't pay for voice or data roaming in US, but international is a much different story.
     
  21. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #21
    As the OP found out, "Don't use EDGE" is not the solution. "Don't turn the phone on" is the solution. The iPhone transfers data on a regular basis, even if you have all 'regular checking' turned off. The only way to guarantee that the iPhone doesn't transfer data over EDGE is to have it off, the SIM removed, or in airplane mode. Obviously, you can't send or receive even phone calls in any case. There is no way to allow phone calls while having EDGE off.

    So when you go to Montreal, play it safe and don't have the iPhone ever in a situation where it is connected to the cellular network.
     
  22. elistan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Denver/Boulder, CO
    #22
    I've checked by data usage online at wireless.att.com - there have been multiple instances of multi-MB transfers at times like 1am. I was definitely sleeping at those times, so it's something the phone does on its own. No idea what for, though.

    So yeah, taking an iPhone out of the country seems to be a bad idea, even if all you do is keep it in your suitcase and never use it.

    I guess Apple needs to implement a "Phone Calls Only" or "No EDGE" mode in addition to Airplane mode. Or, ATT stop charging for international data usage when you have the iPhone plan. (Yeah right, like that'll ever happen. :) )
     
  23. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #23
    I've been thinking the same thing for a while. I'm a bit scared to take my iPhone abroad after reading stuff like this.
     
  24. robvia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #24
    Agree with the post a few above this. The only way to not run up a huge bill, is to turn off your e-mail account, and leave the phone in airplane mode until you want to make a phone call or send a text message.

    That's exactly what I did on a recent trip to the UK for a week. I used the phone at MIA, but once in the air, put the phone in airplane mode and left it like that. We made one phone call, and sent 5 text messages from the UK.

    My data usage is .1 mb and I'm still waiting for my bill to see how much that will be. I already called and asked, they can't tell me until the bill is cut, but the girl said it will probably be $5.

    It's really too bad the data usage rates are so high, and there's no wi-fi only option yet. I've already written Apple asking for it. People are going to stop using the phone overseas because of the huge bills.
     
  25. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #25
    Oh, another "OMG I GOT CHARGED FOR ROAMING" thread. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page