Did I just lose my Unlimited plan?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Macuser1628, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. Macuser1628 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #1
    I forgot to update my credit card info with AT&T, which expired in june. My unlimited plan was from 6/30 to 7/30. AT&T tried to renew my plan today, but failed. Please tell me that I didn't lose my unlimited. I got my iPad when it came out. Does that make any difference? I quickly updated my card info. Will AT&T try again?
     
  2. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Phone them up now and ask him to try again.
     
  3. Zodiak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Gatineau, Qc, Canada
    #3
    Ive read alot about this. Anytime you update your plan with information or services it gets modified and they take the opportunity to bump unlimited data plan users. But hey, be thankful of the usage you were able to get. We pay alot more in Canada. My condolences :(

    To everyone else who still has unlimited data plan, DONT TOUCH IT! Dont touch it, dont poke it, dont even LOOK at it. Anytime you update or modify your plan, your unlimited data is gone! :(
     
  4. Full of Win macrumors 68030

    Full of Win

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Location:
    Ask Apple
    #4
    I put my unlimited data plan on a credit card that has zero recurring balance, a 13,500 credit limit, and an expiration of 2014.
     
  5. doodude macrumors regular

    doodude

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    pssst, look behind you...
    #5
    But do you actually 'need' the unlimited plan? You didn't say...

    I've freaked about this often but then realize that I just don't use that much.
    Not to mention that service is not that great so I didn't bother with 3G on my iPad. I keep it on my iPhone only...
     
  6. Capt T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    #6
    Call them up and explain the situation. There have been a few here with that same issue and they were able to get it resolved over the phone with AT&T.
     
  7. 184550 Guest

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    #7
    This is a question for ATT billing/ customer service.
     
  8. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #8
    Call them.

    Be sure to point out to them that their TOS email states they will not attempt the renewal until TWO HOURS BEFORE YOUR EXPIRATION, so you have lots of time since they did it early. :cool:
     
  9. Macuser1628 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #9
    Issue solved. They were more than happy to just attempt to try charging my card again. I'm now back on unlimited. Thanks to everyone who suggested I call them asap.
     
  10. Capt T macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    #10
    That is great news. Glad it all worked out.
     
  11. Macuser1628 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #11
    Actually, I checked today and I'm not sure if it's actually working out. I'm now on a 2GB plan, with 2 pending unlimited plans that follow(?) Strange
     
  12. ScubaCinci macrumors 65816

    ScubaCinci

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati OH
    #12
    I had to update my CC# due to expiration and I am still enrolled in the unlimited plan.
     
  13. AppleKash macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    South Texas
  14. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    Might just be a glitch. Give them another call to verify. AT&T seem to be cheeky.
     
  15. neal.young macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, California
    #15
    Call them. ATT reps have the power to restore unlimited service to any account, and the would almost certainly do so in this case.
     
  16. macpro2000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
  17. 13blackbirds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    #17
    happened to me . . .

    Yeah. I had to change my credit card and got bumped from unlimited. To make a long story short, the problem is that autopay doesn't automatically switch over to the updated/new card info, but instead hits the old card. It's rejected, so you find yourself with no data and only limited options.

    I went to an AT&T store and got a rep to call corporate, but that's only because I thought it would be much harder to get my unlimited restored. The corporate rep asked me to go ahead and purchase the 2 GB plan with my new card (which was already in the cellular data account details on my iPad), then he reset autopay to the new card and upgraded me to unlimited. I get this month for $25, but after that, the charge returns to the regular $30.

    If you have to change your credit info for any reason and are using autopay, just know that you'll need to contact AT&T to reset the autopay feature. It won't do so just from changing the info on your iPad.
     
  18. stephg macrumors member

    stephg

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    #18
    Well, that's weird because I've had to change my CC info twice (don't ask), and both times my unlimited renewal went through with no problem. Mine just renewed yesterday on the unlimited. I wonder why some people are having problems with that?
     
  19. 13blackbirds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    #19
    Wow, so glad for you that it's working as it should! Maybe the glitch is only limited to the SE, or whatever. Anyway, it's encouraging to hear that someone, somewhere, is experiencing normal operations when it comes to autopay and unlimited.

    Thanks for posting!
     
  20. IamHermann0069 macrumors member

    IamHermann0069

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    #20
    That's not completely true. I logged in and changed the card that I pay the unlimited plan with, and I still have my unlimited plan.
     
  21. 13blackbirds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    #21
    Do you have autopay activated? That seems to be the glitch. If you're changing your card info and activating each month, without autopay, then it seems that you'll be fine. It seems to be autopay that causes the problems.
     

Share This Page