Did I make the right decision?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by 318890, May 27, 2009.

  1. 318890 Guest

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #1
    I just puchased my first Mac.

    iMac 24-inch:

    3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    4GB 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
    1.0TB Serial ATA Drive
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 256MB

    $2,099.00

    Is this a good computer? how will it do working in Final Cut Editing HD videos & rendering them?
     
  2. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #2
    Aren't those questions you're supposed to ask before you buy a computer? :D
     
  3. Unspoken Demise macrumors 68040

    Unspoken Demise

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    >9,000
    #3
    No offense intended, and I hope you don't take it that way, but shouldn't you have asked us before you bought it?

    You made the right decision if it meets your needs. Apple is a great company and as long as its in warranty they will take care of you.

    DAMNIT MOOOON!
     
  4. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #4
    You didn't buy the RAM and HDD upgrades from Apple, did you? :(
     
  5. 318890 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #5
    yes I did
     
  6. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #6
    Then, you wasted a ton of money. Cancel your order if you can.
     
  7. 318890 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #7
    I trust apple to do the upgrade :(
     
  8. Hls811 macrumors 6502a

    Hls811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
  9. 318890 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
  10. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #10
    Compared to what? An octo-core Mac Pro, no. A Mac Mini or lower end iMac, yes.
     
  11. 318890 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #11

    Against the macbook pro
     
  12. JML42691 macrumors 68020

    JML42691

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #12
    That still isn't entirely specific enough, with 3.06 most likely, but probably not by a whole lot.
     
  13. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    WASTE OF MONEY. WASTE OF HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS.

    I don't care if you trust Apple; of COURSE we trust Apple to do it right.

    You can do it FOR FREE.
     
  14. 318890 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #14
    how?
     
  15. Insulin Junkie macrumors 65816

    Insulin Junkie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #15
    There's a handy little website called google. Use it. Type in 'install macbook ram' or 'install macbook memory', it'll come up with tons of how-to guides. Same goes for if you're looking to install a HD by yourself. There's tons of video walkthroughs on youtube too.
     
  16. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #16
    If the OP isn't comfortable dabbling around in the tight confines of the iMac maybe the upgrade through apple was worth it for them. Thats how businesses like Geek Squad and..(wait CCity went under so no firedog) survive.
     
  17. mgridgaway macrumors 6502

    mgridgaway

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #17
    Like others have stated, no offense, but it seems like you walked into this without doing any research whatsoever.

    At any rate.

    Are you doing professional work with this? I think you're going to find that the iMac doesn't really have the horse power to do the things you ask, especially the HD editing. Don't get me wrong, it can do it, but not gracefully. Never use a laptop (in this case laptop parts) to do a desktop job.

    Personally, I would cancel the order as soon as I could and do an ounce of research before I put down over 2 grand. That's just me.
     
  18. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #18
    Installing RAM in an iMac is extremely easy and takes no longer than a couple of minutes and saving of a couple hundred dollars.

    EDIT: It looks like the OP is buying the stock highest iMac, so scratch that upgrade stuff.
     
  19. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #19
    How's this? Looks to me like the OP listed a more or less stock iMac. Where's the "waste of hundreds of dollars"? (I refuse to add caps to this quote.)

    Back when I bought my iMac a year ago, upgrading the RAM from 2 Gb to 4 Gb cost me $179 through Apple. Buying the same thing from Crucial was $139 plus shipping (I checked before I placed the order), and it wasn't covered by AppleCare.

    I know so many people love to punch on those of us who buy RAM from Apple, but it isn't the ripoff everyone thinks it is. Yes, I could have saved $40 and had RAM without an Apple warranty; but part of the reason I switched in the first place was because I got tired of constantly tinkering with my PC hardware - I just wanted to buy the damn thing, turn it on, and use it.

    OP - I don't see anything about your purchase that you should regret. Don't worry about it.
     
  20. mgridgaway macrumors 6502

    mgridgaway

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #20

    Probably because you could've gotten it for half that price at OWC or Newegg. I picked up 4GB in Feb of last year for about $70, and prices are even cheaper now. Never had a problem.
     
  21. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #21
    Cool! Could I have gotten Apple to install it, cover it under AppleCare, and ship it to me free of charge, too? Because as my post says, that's what I was after.

    I've never had a problem, either.
     
  22. 318890 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
  23. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #23
    I wouldn't worry about it. Don't cancel your order (like some people are suggesting). You made a good purchase and should be excited.

    You have the top of the line iMac, so it should be able to handle video editing with no problems. Unless you are a professional and are doing this for commercial movies, the iMac you purchased is just fine.
     
  24. 318890 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    #24
    okay thanks what exactly is 3.06GHz
     
  25. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #25
    I'm not quite sure what you're asking.
     

Share This Page