Did I upgrade or downgrade ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by clipsedsm95, Mar 18, 2016.

  1. clipsedsm95, Mar 18, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2016

    clipsedsm95 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Hey guys, so please don't rip me apart as I believe I made the right choice but give me your opinions and please keep it civil.

    Ok so I currently own a late 2013 MBPR 15" 2.3 quad with 750M 2GB VRAM and 16GB ram 512GB PCIe SSD

    It has slowly gotten slower and slower with apps I use such as Lightroom. I have done fresh installs on every new OS release so that's not an issue here.

    I wanted to upgrade but the iMacs and new Mac Pros are a little above my pay grade currently due to job change.

    I'm not sure if I upgraded or downgraded here but I purchased a Mac Pro a1289 mid 2012 XEON 12 Core 2.4 E5645 (X2) 32GB ram 3TB disk raid 0 for my pictures internally.

    I also purchased a few upgrades
    - Radeon HD 7950 3GB VRAM (Mac Edition)
    - 64GB Ram
    - 500GB MX200 for OS and Apps
    - AC and BT4.0 PCIE card for hand off
    - USB 3 PCIE card
    - super multi 24X drive

    ** could I upgrade my E5645 to an X5675 ***

    I personally think I got it for a steal at 1600 excluding the upgrades and 4TB disk came included I will be taking one out to use SSD.
    In all honesty did I made the right choice here or did I shoot my self in the leg???
    I can't test the machine out my self as I work out of state and will not be home until the weekend.

    Thank you ahead for any responses!
     
  2. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #2
    Seems like a huge upgrade to me.

    Yes, you can upgrade the E5645 CPUs to X5675 CPUs.
     
  3. clipsedsm95, Mar 18, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2016

    clipsedsm95 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Awesome thanks !

    Is there any guides on how to upgrade them? Is there anything extra I need to do or is it just a simple heat sink removal CPU swap. put back together then done ?
    --- Post Merged, Mar 18, 2016 ---
    https://www.ebay.com/ulk/itm/201533622834

    Is this one ok ?
     
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  5. clipsedsm95 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    Thank you very much. I'm so excited with the upgraded CPU's on the benchmark site it states I will have the 2nd fastest Mac on the 64 bit multi core scale !!
     
  6. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #6
    12 core cMP wil hardly be a downgrade, compared to anything really... :)
    Congratulations, can't wait to save money for one!
     
  7. kschendel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #7
    If you are doing a straight hard drive for SSD swap, you could do worse than the Mushkin 1Tb Reactor -- I swapped out old drives for a Mushkin and it was a very nice read speed boost for $230. Plus I don't need to worry any more about when the old rotating drive would fail. You won't get the kind of garish read/write numbers that you would by going for PCIe SSD, but it's a cheap and useful upgrade.
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    That's pretty much it. You will want to clean off old thermal paste and reapply new. You will need:

    Rubbing alcohol to remove the old paste, and cotton pads, balls, or q-tips
    New thermal paste (Arctic Silver 5 is very commonly used)
    A very long 3mm allen wrench for the heat sink bolts

    I bought this t-handle wrench and it works fine:
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000X285AW/ref=pe_309540_26725410_item
     
  9. clipsedsm95 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #9

    yea I did it simple stuff. Mac is great but for the applications I use it for it isn't that great which kind of sucks.
     

Share This Page