Did I waste my money?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by zaccameron, Mar 19, 2015.

  1. zaccameron macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I'm on a gap year and working casually, so funds are a bit tight at the moment. Anyhow, I decided I'd like to buy a desktop Mac for storing all my music, movies and TV shows and perhaps use it for a side of light gaming (Sims etc). So I found a 21.5" Core 2 Duo iMac for AU $400 (US $307) but I managed to barter the seller down to AU $375 (US $288). We already have the early-2009 20" model as a family Mac, and that's been choking with Yosemite. Anyway, I was wondering in your opinions if I wasted my money - I've been trying to save but I just feel really guilty because it isn't as snappy as I expected (even under Mountain Lion). I'm waiting for Yosemite to download and then I'll perform a clean installation and maybe upgrade the 4GB RAM to 8GB or 16GB. I have a mid-2012 MacBook Pro 13" with an SSD and that runs perfectly - which is where my guilt stems from: did I really need this?

    Thoughts? Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mooblie macrumors 6502

    mooblie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    The Highlands, Scotland
    #2
    Going from ML to Yosemite will slow it down further. I would stop at Mavericks, if you can find an installer.
     
  3. zaccameron thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #3
    I installed Mavericks over the top of ML, it's by no means slow and unusable, a few animations are stuttery (like the full-screen transition) but aside from that it's been running fine. I suppose Yosemite with all it's translucency and background services would probably make it worse.
     
  4. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #4
    I think you will be fine with Yosemite as long as you upgrade your memory to 8GB.
     
  5. Sirmausalot macrumors 6502a

    Sirmausalot

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    #5
    Yes, you wasted your money. You made a mistake. What you REALLY needed was an external monitor and an external portable hard drive. However, mistakes happen and can be rectified. Simply sell the iMac for whatever you can get for it (you may take a loss of around $100, who knows) but better to live and learn than be frustrated with your mistake. You'll still have more than enough for a simple portable drive and a nice monitor. It will never get close to the speed of an SSD MacBook Pro with an i5 and you'll always be frustrated with it. Get rid of it.
     
  6. zaccameron thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #6
    Hard to hear but completely true! I was going to sell my hardly-used iPad mini and an older Playstation 3 to make up what I spent, but I guess if it's going to frustrate me then maybe I should keep them and sell the iMac.

    Oh to be young and make mistakes!
     
  7. Wirbowsky macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Belgium
    #7
    I use a Macbook Pro 13' from mid 2010 with Yosemite.
    It is also a core duo (slower cpu than you have), 4 gb ram, no SSD.

    Sure it is not up to today's standard but it work. I suppose your issue is that you are used to a better machine that the one you bought.

    May be selling it is the best option.
     
  8. minimalism macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    #8
    Rather than dwell on the past, why not make improvements on your purchase?

    If I were you, I'd open the case up, dust off any dirt. Change the HD to SSD, max the RAM to 16GB and do a clean install of OS X.

    Those upgrades will not cost much and your machine will feel snappy for sure.
     
  9. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #9
    I would agree that upgrading to an SSD and upping the RAM to 16GB should improve your Mac.
     
  10. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #10
    No, you didn't because it didn't cost much.
    Stick an ssd insie, if you dare :)
     
  11. MistrSynistr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    #11
    I have a 2008 iMac I put a 128 SSD in, it's a dream now. I have Photoshop/Illustrator/InDesign CS6 on it as well and is blazing fast. It's all about that hard drive.

    It also runs Yosemite, and with the new beta update a few days ago it's the best it's ever been.
     
  12. Sensamic macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #12
    Do the same as I do on my 2009 27 iMac: boot from an external SSD.

    No need to open the iMac. It's faster than the internal drive at least.
     

Share This Page