Did My Unlock Work?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jordii, Jan 10, 2011.

  1. jordii macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #1
    I jailbroke my 3GS (the newer bootrom model) running 3.1.3 via Spirit.

    Then I installed ultrasn0w 1.2. And did a hard reboot.

    I'm wondering if the unlock worked.

    I unfortunately don't have a tmobile SIM to try out. But what's worrying me is that I don't now see a new "Carriers" section in my settings. Does that mean it failed?
     
  2. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

    hackthatphone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    #2
    So get a t mobile sim and find out. It's as simple as that.

    No not having that menu doesn't mean it failed, it only means you have failed to put in a t mobile sim to get it to appear.

    I think the real question here is why did you bother to unlock this phone if you can't make use of it being unlocked anyway? Seriously.
     
  3. jordii, Jan 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2011

    jordii thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #3
    I am about to travel abroad, using local SIMS.

    Carrier menu doesn't need to appear. Ok, thanks for that.
     
  4. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    make sure you go to "General", "Setting", "Network" and turn the enable 3G to off position.
     
  5. richardbb85 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    #5
    it takes less time to get a sim and try it out yourself then to post a thread about it. i swear, people on macrumors are all retarded or something.....
     
  6. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #6
    You do not turn off 3G if you are going to use the phone overseas. Only for T-Mobile because their 3G network operates on different frequencies.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  8. Cortezbanks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Well now that's true.
     
  9. jordii thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #9

    05.12.01
    iBoot-359.3.2
     
  10. noiceT macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Catalina Wine Mixer
    #10
    Just go to tmobile and buy a $10 prepaid sim.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    If you installed ultrasnow and with that baseband your good. Your iPhone is unlocked.
     

Share This Page