Did someone say block diagram?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LightBulbFun, Dec 21, 2017.

  1. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    I noticed that a few people wanted an official block diagram for the Mac Pro 6,1

    and well its almost Christmas so enjoy :)

    upload_2017-12-21_16-15-18.png

    oh and as an extra bonus heres one for the iMac Pro (its really interesting how the T2 chip is a PCIe device/bridge, but i dont like how the 2 SSDs go into the PCH its going to be bottle necked by that single x4 connection to the CPU and if the USB ports are being heavily used at the same time then it may hurt SSD speeds as well) also notice how it says 120W Skylake CPU, most of the Xeon W CPUs publicly known have a 140W TDP, so im guessing the B suffix chip Apple has that we have seen is probably a TDP reduced/low voltage chip to fit within 120W

    upload_2017-12-21_16-16-15.png

    upload_2017-12-21_16-16-42.png
     
  2. theitsage, Dec 21, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2017

    theitsage Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #2
    This is great. Thank you for sharing!

    Graphics Board B is the MVP in the nMP. Better take good care of that thing. :D
     
  3. 06tb06 macrumors regular

    06tb06

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Location:
    2,711 miles from Apple Campus
    #3
    Awesome! Why do Macs look just as beautiful inside as they do on the outside? Everything is neatly placed and almost symmetrical.
     
  4. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
  5. adam9c1 macrumors 68000

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
  6. LightBulbFun thread starter macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #6
    indeed there is, but those are easily found online :) (the entire Service Guide PDF is online for the 4,1 and 5,1)
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 603

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    BG 5,1.jpg

    Lou
     
  8. LightBulbFun thread starter macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #8
    figured id add some more info that I know about the iMac Pro to this thread :) since there seems to be a lot of questions going round

    first is, the SSDs are removable, but as they are hardware encrypted if you stick them in another iMac Pro you cant read any of the Data on them in that machine. this does prevent someone opening up your iMac Pro robbing your SSDs and trying to get your data. (but basically if your motherboard dies, you can kiss the data on the SSDs good bye, but the SSDs themselves I believe you can just format and continue to use)

    continuing with SSDs, all models have 2 SSDs from the 1TB with 2 512GB SSDs to the 4TB one with 2 2TB ones.

    in regards to RAM, the inner 2 memory modules have some sort of RFI suppression tape on them that you must fit onto your new modules otherwise you may end up with poor wifi and bluetooth performance

    also I spotted a benchmark of the 14 Core model on Geekbench, and it too has a CPU with the B suffix. https://browser.geekbench.com/v4/cpu/5555696

    and finally, the Coin cell PRAM battery in the iMac Pro is larger then a regular PC CMOS battery. (im guessing the reason why is because in the block diagram its shown driving/keeping 2 RTCs going)

    Hope this helps :)
     

Share This Page