Difference between 2.2 and 2.4 macbook pro model?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shuffles, Nov 8, 2007.

1. shuffles macrumors 6502

shuffles

Hey,

Im getting a pro soon, (im a switcher) and was wondering which model i should get?? I was going to get the 2.2ghz model but was wondering would i notice the difference between 2.2 and 2.4 and also the 128 sdram and the 256sdram?? Im a student but want a powerful laptop with a good graphics card. WOuld there be a huge difference between the 128 and 256 for gaming???

Cheers,
    Shuffles

2. Father Jack macrumors 68020

Father Jack

IMO there wouldn't be much of a performance difference but I would think the 256 sdram card would definitely be better for gaming .. :)
    So if the finances will stretch to the higher spec machine, that's the one to go for.

3. TBi macrumors 68030

TBi

The 256MB card will allow you to use higher res textures but generally reviews coming in show that the 256MB version is about 10% faster in games than the 128MB version.

Personally i don't think the 256MB version is worth it. The graphics card isn't really fast enough to run a high quality game that needs all the 256MB memory.

4. maxpower13 macrumors newbie

Might wanna wait

I'm in the same boat as you deciding between the two. It's a big price difference... just depends on how much you are gonna use it for games and video editing. Also I've decided to wait with all the rumors floating about. You might wanna do the same. The macbook pro is due for some kind of about pretty soon. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=4461409#post4461409

5. killerwhack macrumors regular

killerwhack

Resale value

The difference between 2.2 and 2.4 shows up in resale value. I try to sell my old machines when I upgrade.

6. shuffles thread starter macrumors 6502

shuffles

Im gonna be playing a good few games