Difference between 3.60GHz Intel Core i5 and 2.93GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7

Discussion in 'iMac' started by mouse123, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. mouse123, Nov 25, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2010

    mouse123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #1
    Hi, I am looking to buy an 27'' iMac but I cant decide which of these two processors to choose. Would like to ask is there any difference tt a layman like me (computer idiot) would understand, like the speed of processing. And wanna ask those who are familiar with the apple store, do the apple store have promotions during the christmas period?
     
  2. mjsmke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    The i5 has 2 cores while the i7 has 4. If you are just word processing, web browsing, or very light photo editing the i5 would be fine. The i7 would be better for multitasking and in applicationas that can take advantage of all 4 cores.

    The i7 also has the turbo boost function where if just 1 core is in use it will boost power to increase processing speed.

    What kind of work are you going to be doing on the iMac?
     
  3. Bobbytoad macrumors member

    Bobbytoad

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #3
    Not sure if you are from the UK but,

    If youre after any discount TOMORROW (Friday is your day) as far as I am aware its the only day that the UK Apple store gets a discount.

    Furthermore if you order online go through the link below & join quidco to benefit from to get 3-4% cashback all year round1

    http://www.quidco.com/user/123570/32231/apple-store
     
  4. mouse123 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #4
    I think I would just be a basic user of e iMac. Just surfing e net, some word processing and maybe playing of new games. The last time i bought a computer was 5 years ago and I think after this pruchase, it would be another 5 years before I make another computer purchase. So I hope I would be able to at least play e latest games within those 5 years (Dun mind even in low settings).

    From this link, http://www.primatelabs.ca/geekbench/mac-benchmarks/

    It seems there is quite a difference btw the quad i7 and i5,

    1. iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
    Intel Core i7 870 2.93 GHz (4 cores) - 9084

    2. iMac (27-inch Mid 2010)
    Intel Core i5 680 3.6 GHz (2 cores) - 6967

    Sorry if I am making all the wrong comparisons. I am actually quite a computer idiot.. :eek:
     
  5. mouse123 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #5
    Thank you for your kind intentions but unfortunately, I am from Singapore. Dun think I can enjoy the discounts.
     
  6. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    The i7 870 is much better than the i5 680 however that's because the i7 has twice the amount of cores as the i5, if you're not using an application that makes use of all those cores in the i7, then the i5 might be a bit faster in say web browsing, etc., however the difference would be negligible, if you use applications that make use of all the cores in the CPU then the i7 would definitely be better.

    I can play DA:O on max settings at 2560x1440 with 8x AA with the 27" 09 iMac (4850M) with ~20FPS, the latest iMac (2010) will perform even better, if you got the 21.5" the GPU isn't as good, but the screen resolution is also lower so performance may be similar.
     
  7. mouse123 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #7
    I saw this in OWC website:

    Other World Computing™ Memory
    16GB PC10600 1333MHZ SO Kit (4 x 4GB) w/Lifetime Warranty $283.99

    NuRAM Memory
    16.0GB (4.0GB x 4 Kit) NuRAM DDR3 PC3-10600 1333MHz SO-DIMM w/Lifetime Warranty $259.99

    Is there any difference, other than the brand and the price?
     
  8. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    That's a good question, I'm not sure myself but I tend to stick with OWC brand RAM.
     
  9. George Knighton macrumors 6502a

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #9
    Before you put in 16 GB of NuRAM, you might want to do some reading and searching to make sure you're wanting to do this.

    The jury's still out as to what is causing the problem, but the number "16 GB" and the name "NuRAM" keep cropping up. :)

    Here is one thread about it: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=2548180

    Everybody doesn't have the problem, and although OWC are watching the reports, and freely doing an RMA if you buy 16 GB of NuRAM and have this problem, nobody knows yet what the problem computers all have in common.

    It seems so far that the people who've replaced the NuRAM with Samsung are saying they no longer have the issue. I have taken the extra precaution and gone down to 12 GB of Samsung, and the NuRAM is packed up, ready to go back.

    Some people are also claiming that it's only the people who are starting the 64 bit kernel consistently are the people having the problem. One of the things I tried, however, before deciding to get away from NuRAM was starting with the 32 bit kernel and I had a shutdown while using Safari and a java rich page.
     
  10. mouse123 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #10
    If thats the case, the $50 saved would not be worth it at all.. Better to pay $50 more for a peace of mind.
     

Share This Page