Difference between cheap and expensive lens

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Bodhi395, Aug 30, 2010.

1. Bodhi395 macrumors 6502a

I'm new to photography, and am reading a lot about how people will pay thousands of dollars for a lens because its really high quality and produces superior images. What though is different between the really expensive high-end lens and a cheap one in terms of image quality?

I understand expensive lens are probably made better and thus are more durable and will last years longer. However, in terms of just the image the lens will produce, is a high end lens any better than a cheap one?

If the image is better, what makes it that way, the glass itself in the lens?

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

1) Speed. Expensive lenses are normally a lot faster allowing for narrower depth of field and/or shooting in lower light

2) Higher quality optics: more accurately formed elements in the lens made from more expensive (higher purity) glass or even fluorite glass (or similar) ultra-low dispersion elements. This results in lower amounts of distortion, chromatic aberrations, greater flare resistance and normally better colour and contrast in the image.

So yes, more expensive lenses can take better pictures (although this is not guaranteed: the photographer must use them correctly) and can take images that cheaper lenses simply can't by running at wider apertures than cheaper lenses are capable of.

3. designguy79 macrumors 6502

For more information on why it is called "fast", see this article:

http://www.digicamhelp.com/accessories/lenses/lens-speed/

[​IMG]

Keep in mind that for a larger maximum aperture (i.e., a smaller f-number like f/2.8) means that each of the glass elements of the lens have to be manufactured that much larger. (and getting one without flaws is not easy)

For even more information, see this page:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/F-number

4. Ruahrc macrumors 65816