Difference XP and 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Ytsephill, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. Ytsephill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #1
    Do you think my iMac would be significantly slower if I installed windows 7 instead of XP?

    Thank you
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    No, as the i7 is fast enough to handle Windows 7.

    On another note, what specific iMac do you have? I assumed you had an i7, but that was the 7 in Windows 7, which is actually Windows 61
     
  3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #3
    Which model iMac? What processor? How much RAM? Etc, etc.

    My general answer is no, but without more information about your iMac, then I can't honestly answer.
     
  4. Ytsephill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #4
    Ok, it's a :

    iMac 7,1
    Intel duo 2.40GHZ
    3 GB RAM
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    You didn't specify if you are running Windows in native (Boot Camp) or virtual (VirtualBox/VMWare/Parallels) environment.

    I'd consider a RAM upgrade if you want more speed in either case.

    B
     
  6. Ytsephill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #6
    Hey,

    I'm running on Bootcamp
    I can only add one more GB of RAM.
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    I thought all 7,1 Aluminum iMacs can go up to 6Gb, since they have the Santa Rosa chipset.
     
  9. Ytsephill thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    #9
    I don't have an option/alt key on my iMac keyboard??
     
  10. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #10
    Do you have the keyboard that came with the iMac?
    If so, it is between the CTRL and CMD key, the second key left from the space bar.
    [​IMG]

    If it is a Windows keyboard (for whatever reason), use the Alt key on the right of the Windows key and on the left of the space bar.
     
  11. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Markings are different on non-US keyboards. They use a symbol instead of Option on UK versions... e.g. http://parkernet.com/applepro/index.html

    B
     

Share This Page